We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
SHILLINGS COTTAGE, Blackdown Hills, Hemyock, Devon EX15 3QS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SHILLINGS COTTAGE, Blackdown Hills, Hemyock, Devon EX15 3QS
The heated swimming pool. The cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
SHILLINGS COTTAGE, Blackdown Hills, Hemyock, Devon EX15 3QS
The heated swimming pool.
The cottage kitchen
The upstairs, bedroom and sitting room.
Upstairs through to the balcony.
As a welcome to our guests, we leave fresh flowers and a home made Devonshire cream tea.
The  Kichen
The kitchen door with the fields beyond.
Sparkling wine, roses and chocolates, can be ordered in advance.
A hamper of local produce may be ordered when booking.
The pool is one depth so perfect for playing catch!
The hammock in the orchard.
Riders in the lane near the cottage.
Cherries in the spring.
A quiet corner beside the pool in late summer.
Monarda and Penstemon
The pool with orchard beyond.
Dierama pulcherrimum or Angels fishing rods
A sunflower in the cutting garden.
A Small White butterfly feeding on the lavender beside the pool.
Shillings Cottage with the lilac in bloom.
Twin calves in our fields
The dove cote
Read and relax on teak sunbeams with cushions.
The cottage has pretty hamlets and quiet lanes nearby.
Stroll down to the pond and see dragonflies skim over the water.
The rose hedge.
Only a 10 minute walk, the Catherine Wheel pub serves excellent local food, ciders and beers.
Butterfly on a dahlia in the cutting garden.
A Brimstone in August
The table by the pool is perfect for eating al fresco.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hemyock, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maps67570...
1 review
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived during floods in Devon!!
The owners were very helpful.
The cottage was cosy and comfortable

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thanks for your review. So pleased we were able to keep you warm and dry. I Hope you return when the weather is better so you can enjoy a swim instead of a splash! Yours, Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinhard...
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We rented the cottage for a week at the back end of august till the first week in September and had a fantastic time.The cottage is fabulous for two people and sits in a wonderful garden and the owners make you feel more than welcome.There is beautiful countryside to walk in and some lovely places to eat especially the local pub.The pool at the cottage is also a lovely place to to sit and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoWatford...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked shillings cottage last minute for two nights. We wish we'd been able to stay a little longer but it was fully booked.
The cottage is lovely, really quant and clean. Really nice views around, chickens in the garden and cows in the neighbouring field (one of which had a calf while we were there). We drove to Sidmouth for the day and it was a nice drive through the Devon countryside! Diana was very helpful and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Dear Jo, Jim and I were delighted to meet you and to let the cottage to you even though it was for such a short time. Next time, we would love to give you more ideas on where to go and what to see in this beautiful area. By the way the calf and her mother are both doing well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful home from home”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my husband and the cat, Friendly welcome by the owners Jim and Diana. Lovely scones for our arrival (pity she forgot to give us the tea bags). The house overall was clean and comfortable, (Pity it lacked some basic cooking impliments like fish slice, toast rack, which we bought for the cottage), The pool was a delight to use every day, Although the website states it is for "sole use" between 12 noon till 4pm, this is Not the case. They mean sole use Mon -Friday only, We were dissapointed on our first weekday to find that the pool was not available to us till 1pm due to being cleaned. The gardens were fantastic due to Dianas constant hard work attending them from dawn to dusk most days.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Dear Linda,
I'm so sorry I forgot your tea bags! Also a big thank you for the toast rack and the fish slice. We were very pleased you had such amazing weather and so enjoyed the pool. I have now amended my details to include the terms of pool use and Jim has been severely reprimanded and warned as to his future conduct! But seriously, he genuinely forgot about the midday rule and is sorry.
With best wishes to you both,
Diana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Many thanks to Diana & Jim for welcoming us to Shillings Cottage ( with fresh home baked scones!)
It was perfectly situated for exploring the Blackdown Hills and surrounding area. We managed to visit lots of places during our week there.
Ailsa , our border collie, had a wonderful time running around the orchard and receiving so much attention from everyone we met!
We would highly recommend the cottage to anyone, especially as it is within walking distance of a friendly pub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you Susan for your review. It was a pleasure to let you have the cottage and I am so glad you enjoyed visiting the many beauty spots this area has to offer. Best wishes to you both, Jim and Diana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing