We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect holiday house for group of friends”

Review of Horizon

View from Horizon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Horizon
Horizon Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from Horizon
Horizon
Sitting room
Sitting room, view towards the bay window, patio and sea beyond.
Dining room
Kitchen
King bedroom on the first floor
Balcony view from the king bedroom on the first floor
Balcony view from the first floor king bedroom
Twin bedroom on the first floor
Family bathroom on the first floor
Shower in family bathroom on the first floor
King bedroom on the second floor
King bedroom on second floor with door leading to the ensuite shower room
Ensuite to the king bedroom on the second floor
Bunk bedroom on the second floor
Family shower room on the second floor
View from Horizon at low tide
Combe Martin
Wistmoorland Reservoir
Woolacombe Beach
Sunset view from Horizon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shirley g
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect holiday house for group of friends”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed here with three friends and we all loved the house. In particular the sea views from the living room and some bedrooms is stunning. The house had all that we needed and is set in a remarkable part of the north Devon coast. We would all have loved to stay for a month as it was such a relaxing place to be. Great coastal and woodland walks, great local food and near the sculpture park at Broomfield. idylic

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea views and main bedrooms a delight
Liked least: The bunk beds are not idea for adults so house best suited to children and couples or a group of three adults
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole j
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic Victorian house with fabulous sea views”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for a week with my son ,wife and our 6 year old grandson.to say we were all impressed is an understatement.from the moment you step through the front door you feel as if you are in someone's home not a holiday rental.everything you could want is there especially the kitchen.buckets,spades,nets children's toys,DVDs, games,I could go on.we chose the first floor bedroom with balcony and fabulous sea views and made use of the large bathroom along the landing,my son,wife and grandson used the 3rd floor with 1 ensuite and separate shower room both to a high standard both bedrooms also having sea views.combe martin is a lovely old fashioned seaside with rocks and rock pools galore and horizon fits perfectly.the location is perfect and you could easily park your car and not move it as all shops etc are but a short stroll away.I highly recommend this lovely old house full of character .the owner Cassandra I found to be ultra efficient in her responses to any queries and very prompt in refunding holding deposit within 2 days of our return.we hope to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.sea views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDC_818
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in Coombe Martin”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Horizon for a week at the end of September and I have to say that we all found it to be one of the best holiday lets we have had. The house is clean, warm and has everything you may need for a stay in Coombe Martin. The house is very spacious and would suit both small and larger groups (we were four adults and a toddler), shops are a short walk away and there are a number of other options further a field. We would definitely recommend this to others seeking a relaxing holiday in North Devon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phcycle
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location for a fun filled holiday.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Horizon delivered everything it promised, with stunning views, excellent accommodation, and a location that made family trips to the beach a 'spur of the moment' event; whilst the shops were a short walk away for any provisions we needed.
We are sure to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Being on holiday with the family.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jellyfire
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our two young children (2 &4) and had a wonderful time in July 2015. The house was immaculate, and was perfect for our needs. We only needed two of the four bedrooms, but the location alone was what led us to book Horizon, and it didn't disappoint. The children were very excited to sleep in the bunk beds on one of the 2nd floor rooms, with a magnificent view of the beach, and we chose the 1st floor master, again with stunning views. We spent many hours reading on the balcony, and listening to the waves crash over the rocks on a night was a real treat.
The house was very well equipped with everything we needed, plus there were toys and games aplenty to keep two very active toddlers entertained whenever we were at home, along with fishing nets, buckets and spades for when we were out.
The patio in front of the house was great for evening meals and barbecues. There is a road in front of the house, but it is only really used by residents so traffic was practically non-existent, so the only sounds were of the sea.
We were able to walk down to the quieter beach in front of the house in literally a couple of minutes, and the larger main beach and village centre was just a 5 minute walk away.
Combe Martin itself is a quaint little town, with enough shops, eateries and pubs to fill the week with, but still fairly quiet, even in July.
Overall we had a great time staying at Horizon, the house was faultless, and the location is second to none. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing