We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mayflower Dawlish

Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Front of property
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Singles Bedroom
Singles Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Patio
Dawlish  beach
The Brook
black swans
the Parson and the Clerk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dawlish, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture78...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation in a nice quiet area very handy for the town, beach, railway station and local walks. Lovely patio area to sit and relax in the evening and look at the superb views. Accommodation very high standard and plenty of room for a family of four. Extra touches like milk and tea & coffee available on arrival. Very friendly and knowledgeable owners. In summary glad we found this hidden gem as we had an excellent weeks holiday in a very friendly and lovely location. Thank you see you in 2019 - the Plumpton family from Worcester

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thank you for excellent review. We look forward to meeting you again next year
Regards
Lynne and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but very chilly and damp during our stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location was spot on for us with easy access to coastal walks along to Teignmouth and Shaldon (via the ferry) in the West and Starcross in the East, where you can get a different ferry to Exmouth.
We were there for two weeks and didn't use the car at all, preferring to get the train to Exeter and also Exmouth where we could walk on to Budleigh Salterton. Great views all along the coast and Exeter is a very interesting city too.
The accommodation let things down somewhat. We were the first users this season and the place never really felt aired out or dry. The copious number of air freshener stick thingys and the silica gel dehumidifiers on top of two of the wardrobes indicate this is a known problem. The dehumidifiers we didn't spot until just before we left, the air fresheners made themselves known 2 seconds after entering the property and were evicted to the garden (covered with a plastic bag to stop them getting rained on etc) during our stay. Ghastly smelly things they are.
The heating is provided by electric convectors with time switches and thermostats. All very controllable and the electricity is paid by meter and a fair rate is charged. However, although the heaters work well they would need to be on for ages to dry the place out properly, certainly in the weather we had during our stay, and it didn't take long for the place to start to feel cold again once switched off.
The property could really do with a bit of TLC. The cooker in the kitchen came out of the Ark- and it was probably 2nd hand when it went in! Should be in the V&A museum. There is a microwave but I like cooking more than one thing at a time and baking too and a slow, ancient electric stove doesn't do it for me. I'd nearly got to grips with it by the time we left, nearly. Might have managed a bit faster if some of the icons on the oven control hadn't been worn too much to interpret. The lack of any extractor in the kitchen didn't help with the damp problem.
I'm really not trying to be negative about the place, if you rent 'Mayflower' during the hot summer months and are only eating salads or eating out then you should be fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
We are sorry that you have given my holiday flat a fairly negative review, especially as you seemed so positive about it during your stay Expenditure of less than £1 per day on electricity to cover heating, hot water and cooking in April early May seems unusually low and maybe why you felt it chilly and damp
For information the cooker was bought from Comet at their closing sale in November 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you for your comments and review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrs Carol...
1 review
“A lovely break”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely holiday at Mayflower Close. Everything was so comfortably furnished and well set out. You were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated
I hope to see you again
Regards
Lynne Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath W
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice peaceful flat”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

the owners were lovely and we did enjoy our stay, but we feel if the bathroom was updated and a new double bed would be great, other wise the flat was lovely and everything we needed, the only down side was the STEEP hill it spolied it for us, as we are pensoners and found it hard to get down and up the hill if your fit and young ok also mobile phones went down quite a lot so was difficult to get in touch with taxis also the views are ok between the trees Not trying to put this flat down just telling the truth

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing