We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be brilliant but it's tired...”
Review of The Monkey House - CLOSED

The Monkey House
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I guess I was expecting a modern playbarn and cafe but this is very much the first of its kind. The toys and facilities are old and tired. Needs updating as it could be amazing!

Thank FablePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

It's a 'basic' cafe, with prices that reflect this - so it is good value, but don't expect an artisan coffee. The drinks and food was fine and the soft play was great for our toddler. All in all, it was the perfect place to have a coffee knowing children are occupied and happy!

Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Young children will enjoy the soft play area while you sit and chat and have a coffee near by. You can also get snacks for lunch for yourself and your little ones

Thank gr8caravans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Small venue but for £3 can't complain. Children had a couple of hours fun on a foggy day. Tea £1.35. Can't complain. As a wheelchair user the disabled toilet was rather small and layout meant you got hooked up on door or hand basin and toilet. However, very friendly and helpful staff. Separate areas for toddlers. Lovely slide and climbing area. Kept a 3 &5 year old happy!

Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I came here with daughter in law and grandchildren a couple of times. First time was quite a while ago and we thought the balls etc needed a good sterilising. it wasn't very clean generally. We decided to give it another try recently but unfortunately still that smell and not clean enough for little children. A great shame. it could be so easily remedied.

Thank 543Tomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Manager at The Monkey House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

hi there, sorry we did not come up to scratch during your visits, it does get dirty and dusty very quickly and we do clean daily, its not possible to do all of it during the day single handed, whilst children are playing so generally a section at a time, but muddy shoes, parents allowing their children onto the paly area with food in their hands !! etc and all our hard work is undone in an instant.. however I feel we could do better and have implemented a better regime ..all balls have been sterilised and continue to be done in batches on an ongoing basis...thankyou for your comments, most appreciated, please make your self known if you choose to visit again and I'll treat your grandchildren to a Free Play.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monkey House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing