We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Here at The Ugly Duckling Restaurant, we pride ourselves on the high standards of our mainly British cuisine and the friendliness of our personal service. Our speciality is our daily carvery, served from 12.00 noon, which also includes our home cooked "Dish of the Day", and on Sundays we have our famous "Four Meat Carvery". The Carvery is in addition to our comprehensive, all day menu. We are open from 8.00am daily,(10.00 on Sundays)for fine coffees, to drink in or takeaway, and traditional breakfasts. We currently open every day except Mondays, and on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays through to 7.00pm. We are fully licensed and stock some excellent wines. Look out for our special evenings which include a French night to welcome the Beaujolais Nouveau in November and Burns Night in January. We look forward to seeing you, but you are strongly advised to book if you are coming for lunch.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Had a great burger here back in the summer, staff were friendly and beer was cold. Sat and watched the football in a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Connan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Visited today for Sunday lunch,arrived a little early. Was no problem for the welcoming staff who seated us promptly. Had x 3 Sunday roasts cooked to perfection! Fantastic food at great prices with friendly staff. If I could give 6 stars I would. We will be back. A shining example of how a cafe should be managed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Fortunate to be able to sit outside in the sunshine, had two cream teas & a banana milkshake. Scones were excellent (made that morning) & shake was tasty. Friendly service & great food. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

beautiful food as always highly recommend place to eat in dawlish town
food is always cooked fresh the owners and staff are brilliant will definitely be going back

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Recently had light lunch here on a day out and was very pleased with the experience. There was a wide variety of different options from the straightforward to some more adventurous items.

It was all presented well and had attentive service and at a very reasonable price.

All in all well worth trying and will go back there when we go to Dawlish again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicholasr1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing