We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The fabulous OAK BARN.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Widecombe Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From the Terrace Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
View From the Terrace
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Luxury ensuite bedroom
Widecombe Cottage - Widecombe in the Moor - Luxury Accommodation -  great walks from the Door
Sunny South facing terrace in the private garden
Hand made oak Kitchen
Slendid quiet country location but only a short walk to the village and pub
Wine always provided
Large deep bath and fluffy towels
Hand made in oak - King size bed and dressing table
Winter in Widecombe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DajmUK
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The fabulous OAK BARN.”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I took my family of four to stay in 'The Oak Barn' which is directly behind 'Widecombe Cottage' in Feb 2013.

The barn itself is a stunning renovation and everything from the bathroom and bedding to the kitchen is top quality. You can tell that no expense has been spared.
The owner Richard has excelled himself in creating a truly luxurious and comfortable holiday venue. I should mention he was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

There were a quite a few special touches too, such as the complimentary freshly baked bread and wine waiting for you to devour after a long car journey.

My wife especially loved her bathing experience in the rolltop bath, and I admit to taking excessively long power showers in the wet room after long moor walks.

Even in February the barn was toasty warm due to the underfloor heating, in fact so much so we had to turn all the room thermostats down!

The barn itself is in a peaceful quiet location, and just a 4 minute walk from an excellent food pub 'The Rugglestone Inn'. On the rare occasions when we did eat-at-home it was a pleasure to prepare and cook in the granite topped kitchen and chop on the free-standing oak butchers block.

In summary, this is easily the best UK self-catering we have stayed in, and deserved of it's 99% Excellent rating. I suggest you just book it, don't even hesitate!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honeymoon...
west sussex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Non invasive owner Richard with good sense of humour and v down to earth and helpful when required - quality cottage - good facilities for a small cottage - great local pub down the road (my husbands all time favourite pub!) - welcome wine and home-made bread - great views - only let down was the weather (June 2012). Richard made the kitchen himself and I if I won the lottery I'd get him to make mine!!!!!!!!!!! it is so warm with the heater on downstairs it powered the cottage up and we were certainly never cold. Only gripe if being petty is that settee is small and not the sort you can lie on in front of the fire but that is me having to think of something to be picky about and that is the only thing I can think of and only because I have bad back (hence booking Barn for next trip as I love lots of space and the sauna sounds v appealing.
Lovely bath - take a candle.

Worth every penny.

Just booked the large barn opposite for Xmas 2013 - can't wait - is it Xmas yet?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shula13
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect for two”
Reviewed 3 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were impressed with the high quality of the cottage, from the conversion/renovation through to the equipment. So often cottages for two are very cramped or have a tiny and poorly equipped kitchen, but this felt roomy and comfortable. The bedroom was large and the bed generously sized and comfy. Although we weren't too lucky with weather, we enjoyed several walks on Dartmoor, all but one straight from the door. The back garden and patio had a lovely view and would have been a great place to relax in summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 1 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Widecombe cottage is a wonderful place to get away from it all. It is completed to a very high specification and has a warm, cosy atmosphere. We found Richard really helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the cottage and loved the long walks and pub lunches around this beautiful little village. There is a riding stable just down the road and we organised a private trek across the high moors which was fantastic (if a little chilly.) If you want to chill out, turn your phone off and enjoy a little piece of heaven this is the place for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
she43
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 2 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the Oak Barn for the weekend. Couldn't have been more thrilled with everything about it. The bathrooms, the sauna the beds and bedding were total luxury. The barn was so warm is was easy to forget we had sub zero temperatures outside. Upstairs was just fab. The kitchen was really well equiped, it was much more than a home from home in fact i didnt want to leave and neither the children. All in all a fantastic weekend. Thanks Richard and Lesley for making our weekend so special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing