We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place in wonderful environment”
other travellers have booked this property
Handmade Oak arched roof
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Handmade Oak arched roof
Handmade oak kitchen The Oak Barn - Luxury Accommodation - Walking from the door - short walk to the village and pub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Handmade Oak arched roof
Handmade oak kitchen
The Oak Barn - Luxury Accommodation - Walking from the door - short walk to the village and pub.
The South facing terrace
A choice of twin or superking bed in the second en-suite bedroom
Relax and unwind in the quiet of the Dartmoor countryside
The vaulted lounge leading to the kitchen and dining area
A choice of 40 wines
Long wave radiation sauna - the newest technology
Four poster luxury with the highest quality linen
Large deep baths and walk in showers in both the bathrooms for the feel of hotel luxury
Superking ensuite bedroom
Comfy sofas and plasma TV
Large upside down living space
Four poater room and en-suite bathroom and sauna
The highest quality fixtures
The entrance hall
Near By Hound Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PaV V
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in wonderful environment”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found this lovely place by coincident on Tripadvios due to its special character and quickly decided to book even still having had doubts if it is suitable for our 3 very small children. It was more than suitable for them as well as for us adults! Richard and Becks with their hospitality, their warm welcome with a great cake waiting inside, the very charismatic cottage with its fabulous interior, the wonderful Dartmoor, Ponies looking into directly the cottage from the backyard - just perfect. We can recommend this place for everybody who is looking for a charming, quite, a bit lonely but very centrally located place in the middle of the unique Dartmoor with many attraction in less than 45 min by car in all directions. We will definitively return to Richard and Becks' Oack Barn. Thank you; Pascal and Caroline

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The charismatic cottage and its location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gus815
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend away!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was our third stay at the Oak Barn and it won't be our last. If I had the money to own a property on Dartmoor it would be this one - and I wouldn't change a thing. The owners, Richard and Becks', are the perfect hosts thinking of everything to make the stay special; a bottle of wine on arrival, fresh eggs and a superbly clean barn. Perfect for either a romantic stay or taking the kids with you it offers everything - walks, a pub only 5 minutes away, the vastness of Dartmoor, the list goes on. In the summer you can sit on the patio and enjoy the views, in the winter you can cuddle up in front of the wood burner. A real find and one everyone should experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANE A
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay with a great welcome”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Loved staying at Oak Barn, firstly the house itself is exactly as advertised and absolutely beautiful, gorgeous furniture and all the facilities you need. It is situated in a perfect village and area to relax and unwind - perfect for walking and the kids loved it.
Richard and Becky made us feel really welcome and looked after us throughout our stay if we needed anything at all they were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them which is really unique I think to have such great hosts, they seem to genuiney enjoy having guests and truly want you to enjoy every aspect of your holiday - We will return!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome/house itself
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloodymar...
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would STRONGLY advise against anyone staying here”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Im a young professional and have stayed in many places all over the world this is probably the worst I have ever been treated. These people are NOT hospitable at all. I have left shocked by their threatening behaviour which is a real shame as this was between the Christmas and new year period we arrived happy and left feeling quite low.

We intended to go away on a walking holiday, I am from near Dartmoor and know the area well. Unfortunately these dreams were cut short as we were asked to leave by them turning off the power / gas / and water after one night before we had finished cooking breakfast and without warning.

They walked into the property un announced more then once. We had booked 3 nights, the first morning they walked in to do a full inspection. we had in fact cleaned and hoovered so the place was spotless and they pointed out some water which had just been spilled (which dried up moments later) and some tiny marks under the stairs saying it was not up to there standards, I think they believed that there would be more to point out be in fact we had been very respectful of the space.

I do believe in leaving positive reviews but I also believe in warning people when I think a place is inhospitable. If you want to go somewhere and live under the treat of them turning off the power if they don’t like you then go here. P:S they live next door and watch your every move, very unnerving.

I believe these people have had a bad experience and are very jumpy and ridiculously over protective of there accommodation. I feel a bit sorry for them in fact and hope they can find it in there hearts to see the error of there ways if they are to continue in this business.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
We suppose after 20 years of managing holiday cottages we where due an experience like this, we have never witnessed this type of behaviour from any previous clients. As you can see from the rest of our reviews for this property and our adjacent holiday cottage "Widecombe Cottage" this is not a normal response from our guests. We have to respect the occupants of our other property and neighbours of our hamlet, so partying till the morning, having vans turn up and mattresses dragged into the property and extra people staying; breaks all sorts of contractual conditions of letting as outlined in the Holiday Lettings terms and conditions and voids our insurance cover. In fairness the clients did apologised the next morning and offered to leave. As a gesture of good will we gave a refund minus cleaning and linen costs. We will continue to welcome couples and family's to stay in these luxury cottages within this quiet corner of Dartmoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie M
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 * Luxury in a 5* Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed in the Oak Barn, the Barn is stunning with a 4 poster bed in the main bedroom and a stunning bathroom that would rival any luxury hotel. The kitchen/dinning/sitting room has the benefit of being light and airy, the kitchen is high end with granite worktops and beautiful hand made cupboards. All in all a fantastic property that I'm sure we will come back to again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No Microwave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing