We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated hotel”
Review of The Fountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2011

vert disapointed rooms grubby and shower mouldy rooms need doing up breakfast nice but to big windows bang al night and toilet very noisey

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great location, and friendly staff, but there it ends. This hotel has potential but it isn't being taken care of. Room...peeling wall paper, really mouldy shower cubicle, dirty carpets broken step, table lamp not working.... doesn't take a lot to correct any of these, if there is a will. Potentially good restaurant and food, but we waited for over 10 minutes to see if someone was around to show us to a table, ... no one came ....knocks on the kitchen door were ignored, despite having a number of guests in the restaurant already. We ate elsewhere... lost revenue! Breakfast OK. Overall overpriced for very poor experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed one night at the Fountain Inn en route to Dartmouth. Great location on the edge of Dartmoor and easy to find. The room was a little tired but was good value for the price. Good selection of food in the bar and a great breakfast in the morning. Would return again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in the Family Room overlooking the river and courtyard which has a large double room and adjoining room with bunks for children. We found it very comfortable, though agree with others that the macerator toilet can be temperamental (make sure the handle is up or it grinds away all night!). Staff were very helpful and the food was very pleasant - local sausages and mustard mash was a highlight. Childrens portions of all dishes available. Full marks to the kitchen also for allergy awareness which can be a problem in many establishments. The back bar has a real old fashioned local pub feel to it - there were a couple of people playing instruments and others joining in with a wide range of songs on Saturday night and we were made very welcome by staff and locals alike.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I have just come back from a five day stay at the Fountain Hotel; I was dealing with a flood that had occured in my father's house as a result of the recent cold snap. The Fountain was a wonderful place to come back to; warm and welcoming. The staff couldn't have been more helpful; one very kind staff member even lent me her reading glasses when I lost mine. The food was excellent - I particularly enjoyed the pheasant pie with juniper berries. The breakfasts were just what you wanted on a cold morning - only problem is I have put on a pound or two. My room was comfortable - a good size for a single; the macerator toilet complained of in another review was working fine though it did make the odd gurgle. In all excellent value and I will certainly return if I need to come back to that part of Devon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_mcdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
0.1 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
10.6 km away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
0.8 km away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 25 in Okehampton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 25 in Okehampton
67 reviews
9.4 km away
Gooseford Farm
Gooseford Farm
#1 of 2 in Whiddon Down
125 reviews
6.6 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range: $119 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Okehampton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing