We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, relaxing, cosy cottage with stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond The verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond
The verandah
The living room
The kitchen area
The bedroom
King sized bed
The bathroom
Free logs stacked nearby
View of the farm from King Tor
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Enjoying the River Dart
The farm in the snow
King Tor from the farm
The duck pond
The hens!
The lane to the moor, abundant wildflowers
The farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bailey220...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming, relaxing, cosy cottage with stunning countryside”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just got back from a weeks holiday in this lovely cosy cottage with all you could want inside, lovely to sit outside in the pretty garden watching the ducks & chickens, and to wake up looking out the bedroom window on to the pond, Lovely to meet James & Susie the owners,& we were made very welcome on our arrival, James took us on a tour around & showed us the lovely walks from the cottage. We loved our stay & so did our dog who made friends with Max the collie, will be back next year Trevor, Jan & Bailey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrilyMe
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our perfect destination”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We've had 9 weeks worth of holiday at Stable Cottage which is the perfect place for a family to spend time together. The flexibility of the environment is ideal - Susie and James allow the children to camp in the garden (an adventure!) and we use the space in the cottage and on the porch as very comfortable living space, with us sleeping inside with the toddler while our 4 girls use the tent. The cottage is welcoming and comfortable with a gorgeous wood-burning stove to warm it and plenty of indoor and outdoor table space. For me a plus is that it feels comfortable and carefully lived in. I don't have to panic about the children lolling around or curling up on a sofa because everything is designed to make you feel at home - it's neat, clean and homely but not the type of awkward pristine that puts a family mum on edge. Even on rainy days we can all fit in easily and the porch is sheltered and dry, perfect for kids to sit out on.

The view from the garden is gorgeous and open in a way that makes you feel part of the farm and the tiny leat down to the pond (1-2 inches of water) is ideal for kids to sit at and play with sticks and stone and water and sandy mud. Susie and James are incredibly helpful and even fenced it off the year we had a new toddler and have always made sure we have extra chairs and tables if we need them.

The joy of this venue is feeling welcomed and included in a life of pony grazing, duck feeding and dog loving. The owners are scrupulously respectful of space but have been a joy to get to know and have given our kids a taste of Devon life over the years they treasure. Turning up to the fresh bread and eggs, the warm welcome and the gentle roll of farm life each time is something we all look forward to returning to.

You might think that squashing a family of 7 into a one bedroom cottage is madness and it is a measure of what a fabulous destination this cottage is that we will be going for weeks 10 and 11 this year. As a place to enjoy the wonders of Dartmoor from, it is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere and laid back nature of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Thinking of booking this property?Don't bother!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Right,where do I start?! The good points or the bad?
Bad,bad,very bad were-dirty cottage! upon arrival we were told by James they had new cleaner who was "rubbish" so Susie had cleaned,yes she had mopped slate floor,that's all !
Property had not been cleaned properly for months!!!!! Cobwebs everywhere,cooker greasy,curtains hanging next to front door hung like bits of rag(wouldn't touch them to close them)dust on table with t.v,on and side table,kitchen chair covers stained,toaster old and dated/tatty(cheap enough to buy at Tesco surely),crockery and glasses dirty-know this is down to previous occupants but surely should've been checked before new occupants,the settee and armchair were dirty and stained and were long overdue to be replaced as so uncomfortable because all of stuffing had disappeared out of arms,it must've been so old?!cushion also had mould on as did lampshade in bedroom,bed was so hard and uncomfortable we slept on top of duvet to try and get some comfort (with throw on top of us)bathroom very cold and toilet brush disgusting!!!!surely that should be changed regularly?The whole place needed stripping out and a damn good Spring clean from scratch and replacing all old and tired items.The garden was not completely enclosed as led to believe,(it needs a gate on driveway)so we couldn't let dogs out unless we were with them all the time.It was not private and quiet as expected due to first few days of owners family and friends visiting obviously over the Bank Hol/half term,we felt surrounded on all 3 sides,children screaming,crying etc dogs barking,cars parked along back of property coming and going,slamming of car doors etc-peaceful?no definitely not! so disappointed,also be warned elec by £1 slot meter (how archaic is that in this day and age)?!T.V,kept pixalating and sound popping so you couldn't watch it properly(needs sat dish,still on old aerial)again outdated,and be warned take your own towels,not stayed anywhere for years that doesn't provide towels.
Good points?Well........
Stunning location,fab walks on private fields and great footpaths-dogs loved it!great view,lovely soft water,good quality bed linen,Susie and James were lovely people.but feel they have taken their finger off the pulse and play on the location and have let standards slip,this place could be amazing!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: general lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
This guest arrived in a temper after "horrendously long Bank Holiday journey".
We refute much of what she says. For example she was clearly told by on the phone by James and Susie on separate occasions that the garden is not fully enclosed.
We stress that to keep prices down, we recycle items as necessary but not annually, we would urge potential guests to read other reviews to gain a true picture of our cottage.
We feel it a bit much to be accused of invading her privacy for showing our granddaughter and her friends (who called in one afternoon for tea) the newly hatched ducklings on the pond!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandAmb...
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“most comfortable bed in the countryside- ever!”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we so enjoyed a week in Stable Cottage hosted by Susie and James. It was ultra peaceful- we felt cared for (as if there was assistance to hand, but also cocooned in privacy). The woodburner was a romantic spot to cosy around on the evenings and our own patio with chairs & table perfect for a spring days lunch, watching Susies sweet chickens and ducks converse with a visiting pheasant! we were welcome to enjoy purple sprouting broccoli fresh from Jame's vegie patch too- bonus for self-catering! Lastly I did not wish to leave because of THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in- large enough for two starfish ;)

The GPS may misdirect just before you arrive so towards the end of the journey dont listen to it- just keep your eyes open to the beautiful Dartmoor scenery! As then you will see the white signs to Lower Hookner. Also the wifi works great! Thank you so much Susie & James for an idyllic escape to the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing