We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Harraton Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Harraton Cottage
Read a newspaper and relax in the sun
The paddock at the rear of the house
Open plan living and kitchen area
Open plan living area
Open plan kitchen/dining and living area
Snug
Utility Room with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
A sweet treat awaits you on arrival!
The en-suite bathroom to the king size room
Linen and towel provided
The en-suite bathroom to the front king size room
The bunk room with children's books and toys
The twin room
The family bathroom shared by the twin and bunk rooms
The family bathroom
Relaxing by the firepit
Bantham Surf Beach- 15 minutes away
View of  Burgh Island from Bantham Beach- 15 mins away
Wonwell Beach- 10 minutes away
Avon Estuary Walk- 10 mins away
Westcombe Beach- 10 minutes drive and 20 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Modbury, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom H
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a great stay at Harraton Cottage. The house was really clean, the kitchen is well equipped and the living space is fantastic. The kids loved the garden and all the toys that were provided. Good sized rooms and bathrooms. I would definitely recommend to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you had a great stay and you that the children had fun. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KermitQ80
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A luxury cottage within minutes of Devon's best beaches”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at this beautiful cottage for 4 days with 3 young children and grandparents. It was a home from home! The children were thrilled to discover a tasty treat ready for our arrival.
The living area was spacious and divided into 3 sections giving ample room for us all. The kitchen was so well-equipped and clean with a large American-style fridge freezer, and the children had plenty to occupy themselves in the large garden and with the array of indoor toys and books kindly supplied by the owners. The bedrooms were very comfortable and each had its own bathroom. All modern fittings, well-maintained and clean.
We were lucky to have glorious weather and the owner's recommendations for beaches and places to eat came in very useful. We explored 3 of the nearby beaches, taking along some buckets and nets provided and the children had a great time exploring rock pools and building sandcastles. The surroundings there are amazing with no shortage of walks/beaches/great pubs. We also used the BBQ which was very good and enjoyed some relaxing warm evenings sitting outdoors. The owners have clearly tried to think of everything to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable, we couldn't have asked for more. We shall definitely be staying here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you so much Kiran for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you all enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livcollye...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“May visit to Harraton”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were 3 couples and 2 dogs at Harraton Cottage for a week. The house is well equipped and really comfortable for all. I love the open plan style of the kitchen and lounge. The location is perfect, within easy reach of beautiful coastal walks and beaches. We will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your holiday at Harraton and hope you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmoandt...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Harraton, you won't want to leave...”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at Harraton Cottage. We were warmly greeted by Julie, her local knowledge was invaluable, as was the folder of local info provided.

Inside, Harraton is stylish, comfortable and very well equipped with little touches to make you feel at home. It is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and peaceful.

Outside, the garden is well maintained. Harraton is brilliantly located to explore all of South Hams, or a pleasant walk into Modbury where you can enjoy shops, cafes and pubs.

We only wish we had booked in for longer, we didn't want to leave. Enjoy it for a short break, but stay for longer if the diary allows - there is so much to do and enjoy at Harraton and within South Hams.

We are thrilled to have discovered Harraton - thanks Julie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you liked Harraton so much and really hope you come back to visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstanner...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for walking!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I recently stayed at Harraton Cottage for a girls walking weekend. It worked perfectly for a small group of us and I can't wait to take my whole family there soon - it's right in the middle of the most stunning scenery, close to many pubs (including the best roast lunch of my life!) and you are totally spoilt for choice on beaches and estuary walks, or venturing out to Dartmoor. Harraton is wonderfully comfortable, clean, well-equipped and welcoming. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend walking and relaxing! The coastal path really is very beautiful! Thank you for recommending Harraton Cottage. We hope you come and stay again soon. Best wishes Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing