We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place in an amazing location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

Rear of Swallow Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of Swallow Barn
View from the entrance gate to Swallow Barn and Dartmoor beyond Rear of Swallow Barn and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Rear of Swallow Barn
View from the entrance gate to Swallow Barn and Dartmoor beyond
Rear of Swallow Barn and garden
Kitchen with fantastic amount of space and fully kitted out.
Dining with lots of room
Dining room with wood burning stove
Alfresco dining at the rear of Swallow Barn
Wood burning stove
Master Bedroom with own outdoor access and ensuite
Twin bedroom
The driveway and garden from Swallow Barn back to the gate
Epic skies
View across garden
Swallows nesting outside front door
Roses around window
Lydford Forest
National Trust Lydford Gorge in village
Nearby Brentor
Pub in village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharoncoo...
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic place in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 3 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Swallow Barn is beautifully clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The carrot cake on arrival was such a lovely touch, very welcoming and much appreciated!

We enjoyed exploring the delights of Dartmoor (Lydford Gorge and waterfall is a must see) and ventured down to Whitsand Bay and across to Padstow which were both just a short drive away. There is an excellent farm shop in Lydford and a couple of great pubs . The Sunday lunch at The Castle is highly recommended!

The owner Rachel was very helpful in accommodating us for a short break. Unfortunately the barn was booked up so we couldn't stay for longer, however, we will definitely return for a longer break next time!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2018
Hello Sharon,
So glad we could accommodate you and many thanks for both the positive review and for taking the time to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis D
1 review
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed 27 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Had a great stay at Swallow Barn. Well located on the edge of Dartmoor with lovely views across open countryside. The barn is the perfect place to relax in peace. Good modern amenities in the bathroom and bathrooms. Well recommend a stay, we hope to come back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C
1 review
“Perfect location for our family holiday!”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Swallow Barn exceeded our already high expectations. It is hugely spacious and has stunning views all round. Disappointed that the week disappeared so quickly. Everything was of a high standard. We hope to be able to stay here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
Many thanks for the great review and for being considerate guests. We would love to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Rachel
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria L
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful holiday! Swallow Barn is very peaceful, relaxing and spacious with high quality fittings. It has everything you could wish for to make it a very comfortable stay! The view from the living room (which has bi-fold doors) is stunning as you can see the Dartmoor Tors. Rachel was very helpful and welcoming. A visit to Lydford Gorge is definitely worth a visit and also the High Tors on Dartmoor both being very close to Swallow Barn. We will definitely be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Thank you for being such considerate guests. I look forward to welcoming you back. Also grateful for you taking the time to write such a lovely review:)
Kind regards
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannette...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uninterrupted stunning views and fantastic well equipped barn perfect for exploring Dartmoor.”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful comfortable and so well positioned, slightly outside of village with spectacular views. Perfect for everyone. Quiet and idelic, well presented and perfectly equipped for any length of stay. Lots of space in the barn and a huge garden which really makes you feel amongst the fauna and flora of Dartmoor. The resident swallows and other bird life and neighbouring cows and sheep all make this part of the countryside sing. The garden is a wonderful all day full of sun perfect place to relax and watching the sunrise over the moors was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Swallow Barn. So glad you enjoyed your time there and thank you for sharing the fantastic photos you took! We look forward to welcoming back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing