We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
103
61
14
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
61
14
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub homemade chips the food is great proper home cooked food menu is extensive warm rolls lunch time comfortable atmosphere overnight stay log fire curry stayed here for nights tasted great breakfast and dinner jail ale long walk be visiting again
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We were struggling to find a pub still serving food after 2pm on a Sunday and this was our 4th stop of the afternoon looking for lunch. The Fox & Hounds serves food ALL DAY!!!!! and what a great lunch it was. We don't normally do carvery but we opted for the roast pork despite there being a wide selection of mains on the board. Service was quick, food was hot and plentiful - we haven't had mashed swede for ages - it tasted great. The sticky toffee pudding went down nicely as well. Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richardson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I visited here with my two young children early evening for dinner. The staff could not have been friendlier and happy to help. The food was freshly cooked, hot and good sized portions. Open log fire was a wonderful welcome after a cold day at the local gorge. Keep up the great work. We will return!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank mtbean82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

What a lovely time! Popped in on the way back from Tavistock as we couldn't find anywhere that served food. We had missed lunch and were looking for something to eat at an awkward hour. This place had all day food service and was a treat! A warm, friendly welcome and an open fire, accompanied by a very tasty comforting dinner with a relaxed atmosphere in pleasant surroundings. We will go back again for sure.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sianthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

What I would expect to find when staying on the moor. A hearty meal was just what I needed and what was served was just that. As usual with most pub food the vegetables were a bit overdone but not boiled to oblivion. The range of local beer served was impressive and justified a return visit. Parking is OK with a large car park opposite the pub. Not too noisy if you discount a lot of laughter.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Alyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Genuine authentic charm, all staff very friendly, really went above and beyond to entertain the kids, food was great and plentiful. Ales tasty and the log fire hearty! Looking forward to coming again!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews