We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chantry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsKlein
Ditcheat, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A mixed experience - not for the tall or mobility-cahllenged”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I agree with the other mixed reviews here. There is plenty to like about the cottage, which is a wing of The Chantry. Lovely and warm, a fairly basic but OK kitchen, good TV, Wifi works (though not a strong signal), parking easy and good hot water. I was in a single bed and found it comfortable. he negatives have been described elsewhere, and are still the case. No bins in the bedrooms. I am 5'1" and even I could only just stand up at the basin. And no surface space in the bathroom, except right under the eaves. The only loo is downstairs, (this was actually in the ad. -- I didn't see it) so you have to negotiate the steep stairs if you need it in the night, and there is no bannister to hang onto for much of the staircase! I also found the exit from the bathroom to go up the stairs quite scary -- there is no wider step, and again no bannister there. I wouldn't call the place where the outside table and chairs are, a patio -- more of a dark courtyard/car park -- I wouldn't want to sit or eat out there.
I am 67 with mild arthritis, and found I could negotiate the above issues, but I really would not recommend this property to anyone elderly, or with more severe mobility/balance issues, and I think there should be a warning in te ad: no-one with these problems, and restricted height in the bathroom. Young kids could also be at some risk from the stairs/bathroom access, in my view. So this is a decent place for short, young adults!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, warmth, TV and wifi
Liked least: Downstairs loo, lack of bannister, low bathroom, no plug, no bins in bedroom, no recycling instructions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzer39
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal home from home”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed at Chantry cottage for a couple of nights with my daughter's and Labrador. We had a great time. We went to go walking and we were very impressed with the location. The cottage itself was even better than expected. Great space downstairs - plenty of room for us all and a great cooking space. We were particularly pleased with the warmth of the cottage - it makes a big difference having somewhere warm to come back to after a long walk. Would recommend and would go back again. Nice feel to it and very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: TV/Kitchen/Dining Area
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter D
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Sides to the Story”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In many respects Chantry Cottage is of high quality and has many positive features. The property bears the hallmarks of having been renovated and refurbished to a high standard in some respects. For example, the windows, front door and kitchen work tops are clearly new and of top quality; also, the bath and tiling in the bathroom appear to be new. Other positives include the following: the lounge/kitchen/dining room is well furnished; cutlery, crockery, etc were very clean; there was a plentiful supply of towels; the property is located in a very quiet location, while being close to the town centre.

It is a great shame, therefore, that (at the time of our stay) the property was let down by several disappointing failings, which we had not expected to find given the commentary relating to the property on Trip Advisor. In particular, the stairs, landing and bedroom carpets showed signs of having been in place for a long time and of not being particularly clean; we found the mattress on the double bed to be very uncomfortable (lumpy and uneven), such that both my wife and I slept poorly and ended up with back pain; the sloped bathroom roof and ceiling renders it impossible for an adult to stand up straight at the washbasin; paintwork in various parts of the property required cleaning and / or repainting. Standard 'small touches' of bins in the bathroom and bedroom and a chair in the bedroom were absent; there was no plug for the bathroom washbasin.

It is reasonable to conclude that the owners have gone to considerable trouble and expense to renovate and refurbish the property in some key respects, so it was all the more disappointing that some other matters (most of which one would expect to be straightforward and relatively inexpensive to rectify) have apparently been neglected.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thankyou for your feedback. We are always keen to make guests stay as comfortable as possible. The mattress is only 10months old and of good quality - we are disappointed that this did not give you a good nights sleep. We are always happy to get any new items that guests feel are missing and this we will act upon. Thankyou for your suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
2 reviews
“Welcoming and comfortable.”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We found Chantry Cottage a real home from home, warm, comfortable and exceptionally well equipped. The owners even left us some milk and biscuits, and the key arrangement was very convenient. Would heartily recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and comfort
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing