We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Love Nest”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BostonLuc...
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Love Nest”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week at The Old Stables last year and decided to return, we were not to be disappointed! If anything, the already high spec of this property has been improved. The towel sculptures were truly amazing and the welcome basket and milk a much appreciated gesture. We thoroughly enjoyed our Al Fresco breakfasts in the private courtyard and sharing the huge spa bath (with mood lighting). During a conversation with one of the locals we were informed that our cottage is known locally as "the love nest" and this makes a great nickname for this wonderful little hideaway. Only negative we can mention is the lack of parking and we would suggest this may not be the place for you if you are at all precious about your car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: Lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom80...
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really nice cottage with lots of quirky little features, hidden down a secluded alley which made it nice and quiet. Great location in the centre of Buckfastleigh. Owner Steve was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizwizz
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy hideaway in the middle of town”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely short stay here. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and clean with everything you need. We where so glad to find a small welcome hamper when we arrived and the owner was very helpful.The jacuzzi bath is a lovely treat but missed a shower a bit and having to park down the road was ok as it wasn't busy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudeGreen
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for music lovers .”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Stables. The place was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The welcome basket was a nice touch. My husband had brought his own guitar, but he enjoyed playing the one at the cottage too and we both tried out the Beatles tunes on the lovely grand piano. The woodburner worked a treat and made for cosy evenings in front of the impressive TV. All in all this was a great place. Two small points the bath is very high sided and would be a challenge to anyone who is not completely able bodied and is a bit time consuming to fill. There are several rubbish bins close to the cottage, which hadn't been emptied and it wasn't that clear which one was ours. Steve has this in hand now. Overall a really splendid holiday base.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gws0110
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, well appointed accommodation in a quiet area - useful for travelling around South Devon”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled with my wife and my 11 and 13 year old with a view to travel around Devon. We had a great time visiting the coastal areas including Paignton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes and more. Great for boat trips, beaches, ice creams and cream scones! Buckfastleigh is a quiet little village but a great base to travel from. Buckfast Abbey is a nice place to visit and can be walked in about half an hour - check out the Homity Pie at the cafe! The train is within walking distance although we never used it as we ran out of time! The accommodation had everything we needed from left over foil and kitchen roll to baking tins and a yorkshire pudding tray! The jacuzzi was a luxury and was used daily! The only negative for me personally, as an asthmatic, I found it difficult to cope with the feather filled cushions and duvets used throughout the property (maybe a mention on the property listing for other allergy suffers would be useful). The children enjoyed the large TV and the piano, which was played regularly - sorry neighbours! When we arrived there was a small basket with fresh bread, butter, milk and jams, which was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large TV, plenty of space, well equipped kitchen, nice bath/bathroom & quiet area
Liked least: Feathers
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing