We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
k8_m86
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning property”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have just spent a weekend at this beautiful cottage and have nothing but good things to say about the place. As soon as you walk through the door you feel welcome and cozy. The interior is simply stunning and the welcome basket was a lovely touch. If you like period features then you will not be disappointed.
Perfect location for exploring Devon and great for walking enthusiasts with dartmoor on the doorstep. Will be returning in the future without a doubt.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sky tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris_che...
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in this gorgeous and cosy cottage. Plenty spacious enough for our 2-year old to run around, but still cosy and welcoming. The mews that the cottage is on is quiet and peaceful, as is Buckfastleigh. But for exploring South Devon, this makes a great base...we were no more than a half hour drive from Torquay, Plymouth for the national aquarium, up on to the high moor for a windswept stroll or into Exeter.

The cottage was spotless and well maintained, and even more pleasant than the photos capture. Steve was a friendly point of contact and we had a great welcome pack to start us off.

In short, much recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan1232
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage close to a variety of beauty spots”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice cottage with all that you'd expect plus more. Lack of a stand-up shower a minor negative. Massive woodburner - perfect for winter! Loads of space and functional kitchen. Easy access to dartmoor, seaside etc. Onstreet parking never a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of easy to use shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U128331
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad word to say!”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my partner booked this for for romantic getaway before Christmas. It couldn't have been better.

From the moment of booking, the owner was nothing but helpful. We had a few questions before we arrived and we got a quick response to them all.

We got a little lost on the way there but one phone call to Steve and he got us back on the right track.

When we arrived we couldn't have been happier. It was amazing. The cottage is at the end of a quiet little mews and is so comfortable and cute.

The whole place was immaculately clean and the basket of welcome goodies was a very nice touch...as was the Christmas tree which had been put up for us. It's these small touches which are the sign of a thoughtful and considerate host.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet and the bedding was of a very high quality. It was was a dream to sleep there.

The entertainment package on the TV and the broadband were also very well used.

The bath in the bathroom is amazing... I'm going to have to buy one!!!

I work for a large UK-based airline and am very lucky or stay in some of the finest hotels in the world. I would leave them all behind to stay here again.

The parking wasn't an issue. Lots of on-street parking nearby.

I honestly don't have anything bad to say and we are already planning our next visit.

Thanks Steve!!!

Dan and Ben.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing