We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quirky hide away cottage with everything you...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maureen W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“A quirky hide away cottage with everything you need for a great holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The old stables is a real hidden gem, down a small lane and very private. It has all modern conveniences and although it is compact, it is very comfortable indeed. Our daughter enjoyed playing the piano and having a full sky package and wifi was very helpful. We also had brilliant weather to complete the week.
We highly recommend the Riverford Organic Farm’s field canteen restaurant for its amazing food and unusual and fun dining experience. Give it a try, booking is essential.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonLuc...
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Booked by my husband as a surprise for my birthday and what a delightful surprise it was. Hidden away at the bottom of the cobbled alley this cosy little cottage was everything the other reviews promised it would be, from the delightful orangery to the open beamed sitting room off which is the chapel twin bedroom. The welcome basket of produce and the milk in the fridge were such thoughtful extras. The kitchen is fabulously well equipped and leads on to the compact but private courtyard...perfect for breakfast al fresco. The open plan staircase leads up to the fabulous bathroom....with that awesome bath for two! The main bedroom is large and airy with high open beamed ceiling. I hesitate to wax too lyrical about this place as I would like to keep it secret just for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's secluded location
Liked least: Lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and cosy
Liked least: Lack of cooking utensils and smoke detectors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pontoon23
london, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem - we'll be back !”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We made a last minute booking at The Old Stables based purely on the previous Trip Advisor reviews and it's proximity to Ashburton where I was doing a weekend course at the cookery school, and were so very glad that we did.

A long journey with two toddlers and a rainy unload in the street in front (tip: try to arrive before everybody gets home from work to get a parking space in the nearby streets !) made for a rather fraught arrival but the peace and calm of The Old Stables soon put those memories far behind us.

An understatedly stylish conversion, with good quality linens and towels, The Old Stables is light and welcoming and so quiet - my partner had the best night's sleep he'd had in years !
The kitchen was well equipped and the welcome basket of an organic sourdough loaf and local butter and jam was greatly appreciated.

For us the only real negative was the lack of a shower, and whilst I was in seventh heaven with the luxurious spa bath my 6'4" partner struggled to use the handheld shower unit attached to the bath.

Overall, if you're looking for a stylish, cosy, comfortable base to explore Dartmoor or the Totnes area, I wholeheartedly recommend The Old Stables. We're already planning our return visit, next time for a week !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky nature of the layout, whilst still being totally practical
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing