We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toddlers loved it! And so did the adults!”
Review of Pennywell Farm

Pennywell Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pennywell Farm is a multi award winning attraction, the largest farm attraction in the South West. There is a different hands on activity, show or display every half hour and four farm rides included in the admission price. Pennywell is also the home of the world famous Pennywell Miniature Pigs. There is a licensed restaurant, acres of free parking and free dog kennels provided for four legged visitors. Open Feb - Oct and during December for Nativity Plays and visits to Father Christmas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We are on holiday for a week in Dartmoor and decided to take our 4 toddlers (ages 2-4) here. Us two couples loved it every bit as much as the kids! We saw baby piglets (and held them!), rabbits, goats, sheep, cows, guinea pigs...the list goes on.
The little train ride was off so the farm were giving out free animal feed by way of apology and helped our toddlers feed the seers. This was a really nice touch.
The staff here were super friendly- they all seemed to genuinely love working there and were so helpful. If the little ones hadn't got tired and whingey then we adults would've stayed a lot longer - we were there several hours but didn't see everything. Would really recommend this to folk with young kids. Lots of climbing frames and things too- just so much to do.

Thank 2marshallsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Just goes to show that you're never too old to enjoy Pennywell! We love it when the parents enjoy the activities as much as the children and it's always great to see visitors getting stuck in and enjoying everything on offer.

Thank you for the fabulous review. We hope you'll be back on your next visit to Dartmoor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pig racing"
in 97 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 69 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 70 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 39 reviews
"every half hour"
in 39 reviews
"micro pigs"
in 38 reviews
"piggy cuddles"
in 35 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 35 reviews
"visited pennywell"
in 29 reviews
"small animals"
in 25 reviews
"bottle feeding"
in 32 reviews
"assault course"
in 23 reviews
"goat"
in 34 reviews
"go karts"
in 19 reviews
"egg collecting"
in 17 reviews
"lamb"
in 17 reviews
"collect stamps"
in 15 reviews
Filter

119 - 123 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We took our young boys aged 7 & 5. They had a brilliant day, they really enjoyed being able to told all the animals. The staff where excellent more then happy to help. If your thinking about visiting we would highly recommend doing so.

Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the 5* review and recommendation. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you back at Pennywell again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Whilst on holiday in Devon we decided to spend one of the days at Pennywell farm. With us we had two dogs. The farm was beautiful, very clean and the staff were very helpful. We got to hold the miniature pigs and goats. When waiting to hold the piglets, two members of staff were in there. One girl one boy (the boy had a badge that said trainee). The girl had no clue about the piglets and was too afraid to handle them. She just stood there not even asking if we wanted to hold them, however, the trainee who had mentioned it was his first day went straight in there. I asked if I could hold one and he picked it up wrapped it in a blanket. Although he didn’t have much knowledge on the piglets, he definitely knew more than what the girl did. One lady who worked there came in and explained that you need to wrap the pigs in blankets and showed the girl how to do it, yet she still decided to just stand there. Other than that, the staff were very helpful.
We took the dogs to the ‘kennels’ which was more just a wooden shed at the back of a field. I mean, the dogs were safe once I’d put a padlock on but I feel it would have been better if the dogs were abit closer to the actual farm / farm entrance as they were very much out the way. Other than these two points, we had a lovely day and would definitely recommend the farm to anyone thinking about going. Definitely if you have children too as there are lots of things for the children to do :)
P.s the pig racing was awesome!!!!

Thank becca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Becca

Thank you for the lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed getting hands on with the animals.

We do have some new young staff for the season and it sounds as though some might still be a little lacking in confidence, which we will be keeping an eye on. We are also updating our kennels this season so watch this space. We'd like to get a 5* review if you visit again so we'll definitely be taking your comments on board.

Have to agree with you on the awesome pig racing!

Thanks again and hope to see you back at Pennywell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I loved the attractions and everything but it cost a bit more than any other farm. but anyways the farm was great got prizes and best of all the children that includes me got to collect stamps and got a free return visit which pays back for the expensiveness.

1  Thank Vtwo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

We do charge a realistic admission price as we want to be able to deliver the very best in terms of both experience, team and animal care. I'm so pleased to hear that you collected the stamps and joined in with activities as this does give the children a FREE return which adds to the value of the ticket price.

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the farm and we look forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Possibly one of the best Easter Monday’s. We visited Pennywell Farm yesterday and spent almost all day joining in the wonderful activities. The staff are quite simply superb, everyone made us feel welcome and showed genuine interest in ensuring we had an enjoyable day. Winning the “guess the weight of the bunny” at the end of the day was the icing on the cake. Thank you all once again, we can’t wait to come back.

Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you Alex for the 5* review and for your amazing comments about the farm. We really do want our visitors to enjoy their day and a review like this gives the whole team a real lift, so thank you.

We hope that you will be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennywell Farm also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Pennywell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing