We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect full day out ”

South Devon Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Devon Railway is one of the West Country’s best loved tourist attractions and is the longest established steam railway in the region. The former GWR branch line runs along the stunning valley of the Dart between Buckfastleigh and Totnes on a 14 mile round trip. The steam trains offer a wonderful all day, all weather attraction for families and people of all ages. The railway also has a fascinating museum, gardens, riverside walk, locomotive restoration workshops, a gift and model railway shop, refreshment rooms and more. Free car parking at Buckfastleigh, just off the A38, midway between Exeter and Plymouth; Totnes is a 500 yard walk from the main line station.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Timing a trip here with the main attractions at either end of the line are really good value. We plumped for the small breeds farm in totnes as this saved a bit more money and allowed us a walk into totnes too for the shops.

Steam trains pull the traditional early carriages most of the time but are replaced by diesel trucks at times and as advertised seeing the steam plumes from the carriage through the countryside is beautiful and got some great pictures of this.

Modern facilities within such traditionally equipped locations is good, even a good baby changing facility and buggy carriage as well as wheelchair access too has clearly been thought through in advance.

Staff were helpful and traditional costume from the era were a nice touch too. A £2 guide book helping fund raising is a good buy too adding more historical interest to the visit.

Round trip times are well advertised to allow you to plan your day and perhaps next time a stop in the middle station we may plan as well to capitalise on all the stops.

Thank 068man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for this great review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure your lovely comments are passed on. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rare breeds farm"
in 108 reviews
"return trip"
in 34 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 30 reviews
"branch line"
in 26 reviews
"buffet car"
in 28 reviews
"buckfastleigh station"
in 59 reviews
"model shop"
in 32 reviews
"alongside the river"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 22 reviews
"ticket office"
in 13 reviews
"small museum"
in 24 reviews
"lovely train ride"
in 11 reviews
"thomas the tank engine"
in 16 reviews
"step back in time"
in 29 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 24 reviews
"dart valley"
in 26 reviews
"steam engine"
in 24 reviews
Filter

60 - 64 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I had my parents come over for a visit and decided to go on a trip with the steam railway. Got on in Totnes and went up to Buckfastleigh, did a trip around the abbey and the church ruins, and went back again on the train. What an amazing experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful and liked to have a chat ,the interior looks clean and in good condition and still has the flair of the beginning of the last century.It's not going very fast so you can see the lovely landscape, the river Dart flowing next to it. My parents and I loved it! Very well worth the money

Thank geckoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are delighted that you and your parents enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It’s really a perfect trip back in time! Comfy and spacious and the conductors and workmen are so so friendly!

Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner had a great day out on the railway. There were a few delays but hey whats new with trains and delays. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the trip was pleasant. Lots to do at Buckfastleigh station and reasonably priced

Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for a great review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a superbly organised and thoroughly enjoyable day out this is. We arrived at Buckfastleigh Station in a large motorhome on Easter Saturday to be guided into a free parking place by volunteers from the Air Cadets. We boarded the train to Totnes and enjoyed a beautiful 40 minute steam train ride beside the river to Totnes.

Alighting at Totnes station we then walked around the lovely town and fantastic array of independent shops, enjoying great food from the Saturday market. We then returned to Buckfastleigh on another fantastically nostalgic steam train, with the same friendly and very knowledgeable conductors, after grabbing cakes and a coffees from the rare breeds farm alongside the tracks to enjoy on our return journey. We were told about the free vintage buses running from the station up to Buckfast Abbey and monastery so we decided to go with that, as it was a pleasant and dry day.

After a fun trip up the steep hill on an old coach we wandered around the stunning abbey and gardens and ventured into the shop. We then wandered back to the station via the delightful Buckfastleigh town and river, to collect our motorhome. As it was Easter weekend there was a small vintage car display to meander around and other events organised that we ran out of time to enjoy.

All in all a most enjoyable day and I'm only sorry we didn't get time to ride backwards and forwards on the trains all day, which our day tickets allowed, but at £15 per adult it was an absolute bargain. Loved it

Thank CMtheBGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for this brilliant review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto our staff and volunteers. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Devon Railway also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to South Devon Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing