We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable visit to end the year

First steam train experience meant for my 2 year old but we the adults thoroughly enjoyed... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
winow
,
Hong Kong
via mobile
Great day out for the family ,

Great place for a day out with the family and friends ,great restaurant smashing food . Lots to see... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Richard C
,
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,133 reviews
  
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
775
280
48
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
280
48
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rare breeds farm rolling stock return trip branch line buffet car buckfastleigh station model shop alongside the river beautiful scenery ticket office small museum thomas the tank engine dart valley step back in time lovely trip steam engine run by volunteers
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I had my parents come over for a visit and decided to go on a trip with the steam railway. Got on in Totnes and went up to Buckfastleigh, did a trip around the abbey and the church ruins, and went back again on the train. What an amazing experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful and liked to have a chat ,the interior looks clean and in good condition and still has the flair of the beginning of the last century.It's not going very fast so you can see the lovely landscape, the river Dart flowing next to it. My parents and I loved it! Very well worth the money

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank geckoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are delighted that you and your parents enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It’s really a perfect trip back in time! Comfy and spacious and the conductors and workmen are so so friendly!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank O4017SCcharlotteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner had a great day out on the railway. There were a few delays but hey whats new with trains and delays. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the trip was pleasant. Lots to do at Buckfastleigh station and reasonably priced

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank steph24092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for a great review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

What a superbly organised and thoroughly enjoyable day out this is. We arrived at Buckfastleigh Station in a large motorhome on Easter Saturday to be guided into a free parking place by volunteers from the Air Cadets. We boarded the train to Totnes and enjoyed a beautiful 40 minute steam train ride beside the river to Totnes.

Alighting at Totnes station we then walked around the lovely town and fantastic array of independent shops, enjoying great food from the Saturday market. We then returned to Buckfastleigh on another fantastically nostalgic steam train, with the same friendly and very knowledgeable conductors, after grabbing cakes and a coffees from the rare breeds farm alongside the tracks to enjoy on our return journey. We were told about the free vintage buses running from the station up to Buckfast Abbey and monastery so we decided to go with that, as it was a pleasant and dry day.

After a fun trip up the steep hill on an old coach we wandered around the stunning abbey and gardens and ventured into the shop. We then wandered back to the station via the delightful Buckfastleigh town and river, to collect our motorhome. As it was Easter weekend there was a small vintage car display to meander around and other events organised that we ran out of time to enjoy.

All in all a most enjoyable day and I'm only sorry we didn't get time to ride backwards and forwards on the trains all day, which our day tickets allowed, but at £15 per adult it was an absolute bargain. Loved it

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CMtheBGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for this brilliant review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto our staff and volunteers. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Oh my goodness, have done the round robin several times but have never done this one.
Well the scenery was amazing looking at the stream/river bubbling along looking at all the primroses.
There is also a bank with gnomes on it .
The steam train has a buffet car where you can get drinks etc.
The train goes down to the out skirts of totness but we stayed on and returned.
The whole experience is a must.
We had a wheelchair and the staff were extremely helpful. Thank you.
Please go well worth a visit .

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank tiggerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley C, Front Office Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

WOW, what a fantastic review, thank you so much. I will make sure your lovely comments are passed onto our staff and volunteers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews