We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Rising Sun(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gages Mill(Ashburton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
338
136
55
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
136
55
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryporkexcellent carverygenerous portionsbuffet breakfaststeak and ale pieplenty of parkingstaff were lovelyfunction roomfood was amazingpotatoeslovely mealwell worth a visitcouldn't do enoughsalmonwedding venueevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed in a room which was awful, the window would not open,the room decoration was of a poor standard,the bed cover was not fit for purpose,a huge gap around the door of the room , very small TV ,huge amount of dust and generally not worth the £95 to stay for one night. Breakfast was reasonable.
The location is good but there are a lot better places to stay near by

Room Tip: Do not select a family room as far too small and not worth the money.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richiethewhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during the second “beast from the east” staff couldn’t do enough to help us with arranging different check in/out times, reserving tables for us and waiting for a long time for us to order for our delayed friend to arrive. The dinner was also delicious and the menu was quite varied. All staff went above and beyond and were happy and friendly! The breakfast we had was delicious and plentiful! You could even order smoked salmon from the kitchen but I was already too full! We also sat in the bar by the real fire on a couple of nights and found a lovely atmosphere. The room we stayed in wasn’t the most modern but was clean and did exactly what we needed. The only negative I could say is the corridor outside the room smelling slightly of damp.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Smg0991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I am sure that this is going to be the place to visit in Devon eventually. The room was okay, just a bit dark and would definitely benefit from lighter furnishings. Great shower!

The big plus here was the breakfast. Everything you could want for from a buffet breakfast even sliced cheese and ham!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lkrmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel staff couldn't do enough although they didn't need to as everything possible was provided before you needed to ask.
Perfect location if travelling down for the Plymouth ferry and wary of the M6 and traffic.
Very dog friendly, they reserved a nice table in the bar, our big dogs were with us all night whilst we drank real ale and ate good food. Would Def go back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 503933Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We were so disappointed by the poor quality of the carvery with some of the meat being very tough and very poorly cooked vegetables. We were also spoken to very abruptly by a member of staff for standing near the three doors which lead to the kitchens while queuing where we were told to for the carvery. They did say that they were extremely busy because it was Mother’s Day , but surely that shouldn’t be an excuse for poor service and food . Certainly won’t visit again .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews