We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in peaceful location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Musician1...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in peaceful location.”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A perfect location within easy reach of the heart of Dartmoor. The cottage was exceptionally clean, very warm and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was particularly luxurious and there was plenty of space throughout. We were made very welcome by Nick and were always pleased to receive a visit from the gorgeous Scruff! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
We are so delighted you had such a nice time! Thank you - sending our very best regards from Dartmoor....Scruff sends a wag!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinnyWest...
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wow! Sums it up really. The most beautiful quaint cottage, perfectly appointed with amazing views and tranquility yet only a few minutes drive from civilisation! We really enjoyed our stay, loved our visits from Holly and Scruff and even though it was only February we managed to sit outside enjoying the view for a quick coffee! Will definitely recommend and be back again to explore more of Dartmoor and the coastal areas. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Oh we are SO pleased you had a lovely time! The dogs are rather lovely (if we do say so ourselves!) and we'll all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care and sending warmest regards to you both from sunny Dartmoor

Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miss toni...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Fabulous location, Very comfortable accommodation, friendly host and family dogs, stress free. We would like to return in the future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
Thank you for the lovely review Toni! We are so happy that had a relaxing break and hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards from Dartmoor, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A beautiful cottage, surrounded by stunning scenery, we could not fault our stay at The Mill Cottage.

Welcomed by the adorable Scruff, we entered the cottage and immediately felt like we had come home. Everything that we could need in terms of provisions were already there and a much appreciated bottle of wine, was waiting to be drunk.

You can tell that a lot of care and attention has been put into each room by Sarah and Nick, each one having a touch of luxury but at the same time, remaining cosy. Sarah and Nick are excellent hosts, very approachable and more than happy to help. There was also fantastic information in the cottage, giving details of places to visit, as well as recommending eateries.

Needless to say we would highly recommend The Mill Cottage and will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thank you both so much! It's so nice to know that you felt at home in the Mill Cottage - and we do hope you'll return again. Thank you for such a lovely review and for staying with us. Sending warmest regards from Dartmoor, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage; perfect location!”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Ideally situated to explore Dartmoor/Devon, Mill Cottage was great; situated on a farm but within easy reach of local towns & nearby pubs & restaurants. Cottage was cosy & warm on arrival & the bed was the biggest most comfortable we've ever slept in! Nick & Sarah were welcoming hosts as were their two dogs Scruff & Holly! (and we're normally more 'cat people' but loved them !). Worth visiting their restaurant 'Home Farm Cafe' at Parke NT property for excellent food! A very enjoyable week all round :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Hooray! We are SO pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Mill.
Thank you for being such lovely guests and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing