We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Weekend Away Ever!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Camels_Tr...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Weekend Away Ever!”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My fiance and I stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of October for his 30th birthday.

Everything was absolutley perfect and the cottage was decorated beautifully. The complimentary eggs, milk and coffee were a lovely touch too. Nick was very hospitable and friendly to both of us ( as were the two dogs!)

It was very peaceful at the farm and the walks around the farm were very enjoyable. We had a cozy night in on the second night and ate at the Rugglestone Inn one night and The Carpenters Arms which both are a short drive away.

We have both gushed to all our family and friends about the wonderful time we had here and are going to be coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thrilled you both had such a nice time! Thank you for your review - it means the world to have your feedback but always makes us beam when you have had an extra fabulous stay! Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was perfect!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thanks for staying with us and the great review, we're working on some new photos this week and hopefully a new website is coming shortly too!
Sarah & I are running an offer for previous guests with a 25% discount on the next stay, please look out for our e-mail newsletter or drop us a line if we can help. All the best, Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Retsrof
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you like peace and tranquility this is the place for you. The setting is beautiful. A bit off the beaten track but that's part of it's charm. Nick and Sarah - not to mention the dogs - make you very welcome. The Mill is first class accomodation. Whilst you definitely need a car you are within easy distance of Exeter, Ashburton and Newton Abbot. Widdecombe - in the Moor of Uncle Tom Cobley fame is also nearby.
We spent three very pleasant days here and would recommend it to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: The one track road leading to it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Lovely to hear you had a great break and thanks for the review...we'll make sure to let the dogs know they got a mention n despatches...all the very best, Nick & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewBerty
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect break”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

So, as a last minute venture my partner and I luckily stumbled across The Mill. Nick got in touch almost immediately and our long weekend was booked.

The Mill is based on a working farm and is a charming and very homely cottage which is part of a larger barn that serves as the hub of the farm.

The cottage is really spacious, the kitchen is modern and the bed is about the most comfy thing I can remember sleeping on. Nick and family (including the dogs) are lovely and welcoming, we went for walks and runs every day within the farm and the dogs never left our sides!

It's easy to get to, yet feels like you're away from it all. I provided a great base for us to walk in Dartmoor national park (10 min drive), paddle in the sea (Blackpool Sands 35 mins), and eat at a lovely country pub (Rugglestone Inn 15 mins drive).

I am always loath to say too many nice things as I would like places like this to remain my secret but reluctantly I must say this place is a gem and I would absolutely recommend a trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Sssh, don't tell everyone...
Thanks for the really great review, it's so appreciated and we do (eventually) get to catch up with our replies!
We know what you mean about the bed, it is soo comfy, Sarah & I would love one like that!
If we can help with any future stay , please don't hesitate to get in touch direct, there is a sneaky 30% off offer coming out to past guests this week so check your spam box if you miss it...
thanks once again, have a great rets of the autumn, Nick & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricalind
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked this for a couple of nights, last minute, on our way to another holiday.

The cottage was clean, comfortable, and homely. Nick and the family were all very friendly and helpful.

The huge bed was wonderful!

It's very quiet, ideal for a few days to unwind. It would be ideal for those who love to ramble/walk, as the countryside around is very pretty.

The dogs were delightful - friendly, and well behaved.

We found the Wi Fi to be erratic, and couldn't get a phone signal - both probably due to the farm being in a valley.

Would recommend for those who want a quiet break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed was huge and comfortable.
Liked least: Lack of reliable WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thankyou very much for the lovely comments and for staying with us, sorry the broadband was intermittent, we are quite rural, there are usually no major problems.
Hope to see you in the future, have a great summer, all the best, Sarah & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing