We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic tranquil peaceful, restful, just what the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DeeDeef3
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic tranquil peaceful, restful, just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Mill was spacious the photos don't do it justice the idyllic surroundings, the interior design was of the best standard, the warm welcome from Sarah and Nick was so warming and we felt it was home from home, The lovely little gesture of the wine and fresh eggs tea coffee and milk so welcoming after our long journey. lovely walks around the grounds so nice to do and have the dogs guide you to where you can go, so loving and friendly. The Pool hut was lovely and its so special that its been put their out of love. Great place to watch the ducks and sit quietly and watch what they can get up to. Lots of things to visit around their and plenty to do would highly recommend it. A very big Thank you for making our weekend so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the whole weekend brilliant place to stay and we would do it again.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kpantos
Horninghold
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage in a lovely setting. Close to towns for wandering as well as walks on your doorstop. Nick and Sarah were extremely welcoming and very helpful from the time of booking. Great place for couples, young and old. We will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: More towel space, especially somewhere to hang the hand towel!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review - how wonderful that you felt home in The Mill. We hope you're both well and look forward to welcoming you back to Lurcombe in the future. Our very best wishes to you both from Dartmoor! Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had modern necessities but old world charm with wooden beams and lots of character
Liked least: Probably the mattress only because I prefer something a little more firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We hope that you both (and bump) are well. We're so pleased that you had a great time here at Lurcombe and we wish your friends you got married at the yurt camp happy blessings! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing