We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A short drive away from Lurcombe are the exquisite Tors of Dartmoor...
Dartmoor Stone Circles - only a short drive from the Granary barn...
Situated only a few miles away from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect spot for Moor & Coast
Haytor -  a natural beauty spot - only 3 miles from Lurcombe...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
southyork...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a really lovely place to stay. The hosts are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. We really appreciated the milk, eggs and bottle of wine in the fridge! The location is perfect: really close to the A38 for easy navigation to some beautiful sites, but incredibly peaceful. We would recommend visiting Slapton Sands, Saltnam House, Hattie and a river cruise from Totnes to Dartmouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Hi Judith
Thank you very much for such a LOVELY review! We are delighted you had such a nice time in the area and enjoyed your stay here at the farm. We hope to welcome you both back again soon. Please send our very best to Tony. Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
What a lovely review! THANK YOU! We are delighted you had such a enjoyable trip and that you enjoyed your time in Devon and on Dartmoor. Sending you warmest regards from Lurcombe Farm, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny H
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little piece of Paradise on Dartmoor”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at the Granary barn as a base for our exploration of Devon and Cornwall. The location is very central and served my major roads very nearby. The Granary cottage itself is very comfortable and nicely appointed. The surrounds are particularly pretty as the farm is located in a well tree'd area in amongst rolling hills and paddocks. the owners run a small herd of Ruby Red cows. the owners Sarah and Nick are lovely people, easy going and always happy to help. I would recommend this property to anyone staying in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2018
It was really lovely to meet you both and we're delighted you had a wonderful time. Wishing you all the very best, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickyandc...
London
2 reviews
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely spot to stay in, peaceful and relaxing. Will defiantly return! Check out their cafe for gorgeous food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2018
Thank you both! So pleased you had a lovely time! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All our very best from Dartmoor x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful little bolthole”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I feel so lucky to have stumbled across the granary barn after a wonderful few days spent on Sarah and Nick's farm. The cottage itself is beautifully finished with everything you need to be comfortable and then some. The views of the hills are lovely and the farm itself has so much charm. Nick and Sarah were very accommodating and so quick to answer all my (many) questions before arrival. We didn't have as much time as we would have liked to explore the area further as we were committed to non stop wedding celebrations so we will most certainly be back to enjoy the peace and surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Thank you to you both for this lovely review! It's made our day! We're so happy you enjoyed the Granary and your stay here at the farm. We very much hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards from Dartmoor, Sarah, Nick, Holly, Scruff & Co x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing