We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little bolthole”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A short drive away from Lurcombe are the exquisite Tors of Dartmoor...
Dartmoor Stone Circles - only a short drive from the Granary barn...
Situated only a few miles away from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect spot for Moor & Coast
Haytor -  a natural beauty spot - only 3 miles from Lurcombe...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful little bolthole”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I feel so lucky to have stumbled across the granary barn after a wonderful few days spent on Sarah and Nick's farm. The cottage itself is beautifully finished with everything you need to be comfortable and then some. The views of the hills are lovely and the farm itself has so much charm. Nick and Sarah were very accommodating and so quick to answer all my (many) questions before arrival. We didn't have as much time as we would have liked to explore the area further as we were committed to non stop wedding celebrations so we will most certainly be back to enjoy the peace and surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Thank you to you both for this lovely review! It's made our day! We're so happy you enjoyed the Granary and your stay here at the farm. We very much hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards from Dartmoor, Sarah, Nick, Holly, Scruff & Co x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie L
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed this weekend and had a great time. The barn is very nicely done and the rooms are great sizes and the kitchen it well equipped. The dogs on the farm were our favourite thing, especially scruff who was always there to greet us and even joined us on a walk.

We ate at the restaurant which is owned by the farm (Home Farm Cafe) which was very nice although it did take a while for the food to come out - however when you see the size of the kitchen it's no wonder. Good food and we had 3 courses with wine for £50.

Only negative would be the bed which was a bit hard and the linen could be nicer.

We had a great weekend and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write.
The dogs are little gems and can be bribed quite easily with chews! We are really pleased you had a lovely stay. Thank you for visiting the café too, the food that comes out of the tiny kitchen is testament to our talented chefs/team. Re the linen and the 'hard' bed, we're sorry you feel that way. We hope that if you return you may like to consider staying in our Mill Cottage which has a lovely super-king sized bed. Sending regards to you from Dartmoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillippa...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a three night stay at The Granary Barn recently as we were attending a wedding in Newton Abbot and wanted to extend our break to a day either side.

Although the accommodation is off the beaten track it is near enough to all of the action and the local taxi firm were cheap and very reliable.

Sarah and her family were helpful but not intrusive and there is a wealth of information and maps in the Barn.

The accommodation itself was immaculate. Clean, comfortable with everything you could need.

We shall definitely be returning to explore Dartmoor more and to for a total switch off!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you Phillippa - we are so pleased you had such a lovely weekend and that the happy couple had such a nice day. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sarah & Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna K
1 review
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I stayed in The Granary for a two-night break and simply cannot find fault with any aspect of our stay. The hosts are incredibly welcoming, the accommodation is presented beautifully and the location is second-to-none. We are very lucky to have found such a peaceful and idyllic place to stay.

Lurcombe Farm is nestled in a valley not far from the nearest village of Ashburton and around a 30 minute drive from Exeter. Obviously you could make the trip off the farm to explore the local area but you don't need to use the car at all if you don't wish - the owners have thought of everything you could possibly want or need for your stay; a welcome basket of milk, bread and fresh eggs (from Lurcombe farm itself) to books, DVDs and board games in case the rain holds you to ransom indoors. Mind you, with a view like the one we had from our window, you won't want to venture far and we can recommend taking a pair of wellies to explore the farm and the scenery it has to offer - the farm dogs Scruff and Holly might even join you.

Practically speaking, the bed was comfy, the bathroom immaculate and the kitchen well-equipped. We would highly recommend The Granary to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing break in Devon - it is simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Dear Hanna - thank you SO much for writing your review. We are absolutely thrilled that your two night break was one in which you felt rested and relaxed. Thanks for taking the time to write down your thoughts and thank you for staying with us. We hope all is well and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the farm soon, Sarah & Nick, kids and woofs x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emylou81
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had the loveliest of weekend breaks here. It was our honeymoon and the owners put up 'just married' bunting and a rose petal heart on the bed. Great hosts, very friendly. Happy & sweet dogs. Clean & comfy cottage. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you Emma for your review....so pleased you had a lovely honeymoon and it was our pleasure to add little touches to the Barn for your stay. Wishing you every happiness in your lives together, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing