We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
366
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
366
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nigel amanda bay view room stunning harbour views homemade jams fresh milk private balcony roll top bath brixham harbour great hosts warm welcome compote powerful shower great shower off road parking breakfast room private parking stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Stunning location right in the heart of Brixham. Nigel and Amanda have really got it spot on. Very welcoming,beautiful house and they are really passionate about what they do. Brilliant value for money,breakfast is amazing I really recommend it.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank exeterbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

To be honest I'm not quite sure who exeterbally is ?? but it matters not as it sounds like you enjoyed your short stay with us and you've kindly recommended us to many others who come across your comments. Lets hope we see you on the English Riviera again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We chose Beacon House for our anniversary celebrations, a 3 night weekend stay.
Everything was perfect, faultless.
Nigel welcomed us and showed us round. We stayed in Bay View, the top floor room with the balcony. This was definitely worth booking, even in November as we did sit out in the sunshine.
The room is well appointed and we appreciated the home made goodies and finishing touches.
Amanda's breakfasts were better than those in any hotel we have stayed in. All freshly cooked, lots of choice and 'light' options.
There are 3 lots of steps down to the harbour but these were no problem and it was a short walk, about 5 minutes. There are lots of good restaurants nearby.
We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hello Wren 27 and husband :-) thank you very much for your kind words they are much appreciated. The two most important things though are a) you both enjoyed your anniverasry with us in "sunny" Brixham and b) that you've made a firm commitment to return to our little house LOL !! Thanks again Amanda and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Only one word can adequately describe this B&B.............SUPERB.
Food, views, en suite, bed, attention to detail and hosts Amanda & Nigel...........all outstanding. There is no need to say anything else. Just go !!!!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank bernard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Bernard, lets hope lots of people follow your suggestion and "just go" ............... and thank you for all your positive words and feedback, glad you both had an "outstanding" time with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We have being staying here for several years now, it is still faultless and never have we been disappointed, Nigel and Amanda are amazing and it still is the best breakfast we have ever had, such a bonus having car parking as well, bit confused by last guest leaving comments about Nigel tapping his watch as though he was late for breakfast, after many years coming here, I think possibly he did not understand his humour, the attention to detail and personal touches are second to none, you end up leaving and feeling like they are your extended family, oh and did I mention how amazing the breakfast is!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Scott, I think you actually mentioned how good the breakfast was....... twice.................but you failed to mention the front of house service :-( Seriously though, always a pleasure to have you guys come and stay with us and always enjoy the banter at breakfast! Next time you come you must promise to try one of Amanda's "light options". Take care Amanda & Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a nice B&B and the owners have done a lot of work, and work hard, to ensure that visitors have a good break holiday. I believe all rooms have a sea view.

The bed we had in our room was very comfortable. Ample parking is available. It only takes a few minutes to walk down steps to Brixham Harbour. Due to the location of the house it may be a more difficult walk back for some people. However you can get a cab for about £3.50.

Unfortunately I will not be going back because I didn't like the remarks made by the owner when I went downstairs for breakfast on the second morning (with about five minutes to spare) whilst tapping his watch at the same time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Steve thank you very much for your review and feedback its much appreciated. All your comments are noted and you will of course always be welcome at our humble abode Amanda & Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews