We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
330
358
245
142
315
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
330
358
245
142
315
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropicana club soft play area entertainment team sea view flexi dine evening entertainment great entertainment great holiday bit dated coastal walk family holiday short break berry head tara bowling arcade bay
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Booked this as a family holiday. On arrival the place looked so old and in need of a face lift. Car park was ram packed. Swimming pool was closed and very basic just a pool and tiny. On opening the chalet door I had to clean the place myself mud on the floor old food over the floor people's clothing and sweet wrappers in the bedroom. Hair all over the mattress covers. However we decided as we had travelled so far we would stay. Worse move ever. The double bed (sofa bed) I ended up with bruised legs that were so painful you didn't wanna roll over. It was worse than hi-de-hi.
On arriving home I complained and asked for my money back, however was told couldn't do that but can offer you another holiday. I for some reason agreed. However now due to family health we can't go but there not intrested and no money back.
Oh the views are lovely only thing that is.
Never again stay away.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Booked as a sun holidays for a cheap Easter get away. We did pay to upgrade to a silver chalet which we are glad we did.

When we pulled into the park for the first time and saw the A block chalets we were filled with trepidation and set ourselves up for the fact we would be looking for somewhere else to stay. The A block chalets looked in need of a lot of TLC with wooden window frames and condensation running down the inside.

We went to check in and were in the B block. These chalets had plastic windows so no damp. Our chalet was had been cleaned and was warm and dry - so we were happy to stay. Out chalet sleeps 4 (2 single beds and a sofa bed) there is barely enough room for 2. The cooker, kettle and toaster are all relatively new and clean. TV worked fine. We have slept well and it is quiet at night. Lovely double patio doors on the front of chalet - lacked privacy as everyone walking past looked in and you don’t want to sit with the curtains closed all the time.

The park is very dated - I’m not sure how you would improve the overall look of the site without knocking it down - there’s something about the lines of concrete buildings that summon up war camp images. Only used the park as a base so not used any of the facilities on site so cannot comment on these. The coastal path walk to Berry Head is picturesque- but very very muddy. The views from the site are lovely.

Not sure we would stay here again the chalets are very dated and not really for us, think we would go back to using a static caravan rather than a chalet. We had a lovely break and the sun even came out!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lealou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, General Manager at Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi lealou21, many thanks for your review. Riviera Bay is an older style, traditional holiday park, which is reflected in our great prices, with many features our guests enjoy year after year. The facilities themselves, along with the parks teams are great and a cut above what some of our local competitors offer, it's a shame you didn't get to experience them. There is a plan to improve all of the park, we have just taken half of the original accommodation, knocked it down and replaced with some stunning lodges that are for letting only (the view from their front decking is stunning). We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the chalet as it should be. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We booked to come on monday 26th but paid £30 to come for an extra night and day and was really happy we did.The silver chalet was very clean and tidy. Our kids really enjoyed themselves and so did me and my wife.Good size swimming pool and arcades.Every staff we saw was happy and friendly. We loved the nights entertainment and the entertainment team made an effort to come and talk to everyone while off stage especially to Shaun who come and sat with us some nights while off stage and had us both in fits of laughter. Thank you to the rest of the entertainment staff aswell.Will defo be back again soon. Thank you Riviera Bay ☺

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mikeandkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, General Manager at Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi mikeandkirsty, thank you for your review. It's great to read that yet another guest has found the park, accommodation, facilities and the teams exactly as they should be. It's great to note you specifically enjoyed the entertainment, our entertainment manager Tara is into her 3rd season with us however some team members are brand new and are getting into the swing of thing's quickly. Thank you once again for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you and the family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This visit was a part of my son's rugby tour, but we thought we would take the opportunity to get away as a family of five for the weekend, so it is only fair to start by saying this isn't the sort of resort we would normally choose to stay in.

The self catering chalet we stayed in was homely but basic even with the toaster, microwave and modern enough amenities. We had a double and twin room, the fifth member used the fold out bed in the front room, which was actually quite comfortable.

We arrived after dark on the Friday and check in was harmless enough. The main restaurant was closed, but we able to order take away food from the adjoining unit which we ate in our chalet. Owing to the late hour, the on site convenience store was also closed but the bar was open and the entertainment was going strong.

After a decent nights sleep, breakfast was reasonably priced and quite nice and whilst we didn't have to wait a long time, staff were not in a hurry.

Without boring you with the tour details, the park were incredibly accommodating of us. Part of our package included the restaurant for the evening where we had pre-ordered meals.

To further cut a long story short, as the tour came to an end on the Sunday morning, the snow had started to set in the night before and we were finding that those who hadn't had the foresight to leave on the Saturday were now struggling to be able to safely leave the site. Staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us. Quite a few families attempted to leave and had to return and this just wasn't an issue.

As a venue it was basic and clean. The main building has a small arcade, bowling alley, convenience shop, two restaurants, a bar and entertainment hall. There was also an indoor pool. The rest of the venue consisted, from what I could tell without extensive exploration, to be a hive of chalets overlooking the sea.

The tight schedule of the tour and restrictive nature of the weather stopped me from being able to really get out and see the local area, which was a shame, but I am assured there are certainly things of interest in the vicinity.

I would say this is a place suited more of younger families, or people looking for a simple get away. If you like extravagance this is not for you, but if you like a compact holiday with friendly staff and simple atmosphere where you control the schedule then you can't go far wrong.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank 00dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, General Manager at Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Very rarely 00dread do I read such an honest, articulate review, thank you. You have described us fantastically well, we are not, and never claim to be, an all singing all dancing 5 star venue. We are exactly as advertised - a good traditional style holiday park providing great value for money with a great team of friendly, helpful staff, fact's I am very proud of given historical reviews. I am pleased everything went well, with the exception of the weather, I understand the tour was enjoyed by all concerned. One of Riviera Bay's plus points is its location. Brixham itself is stunning, a typical fishing port that has largely been untouched in years. Dartmouth, Dartmoor, Paignton & Torquay are all within easy reach and easy to get to. Perhaps you'll get to visit these areas and more during your next visit. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with 3 children age 10, 3 and 1. After initially thinking we had walked into a time warp we gave it the benefit of the doubt, when booking this stay, pictures of log cabins were advertised. On arriving we found it as 1950 chalet blocks. It smelt damp and musty, and quite frankly was disgustingly dirty. The windows were mouldy, the floors were filthy, skirtings were covered in mud and dirt, the dishes were dirty and put away in the cupboards, the only thing that I can say was clean was the bed sheets and quite possibly the only reason we stayed and the fact that if we complained all the places looked the same so we stuck with what we had through fear of getting somewhere worse. There were 2 electric sockets in the entire kitchen so everything you wanted, the toaster, kettle or microwave you had to switch them over. More sockets were located underneath the beds in the bedrooms that you couldn’t reach. There were also no lamps in sight just main lights and all the furniture was old smelly, miss matched and falling apart. A massive patch has been made the ceiling where presumably they had a leak and just roughly patched it up and painted that one area. The tv only had some channels. Having young children and it being chilly we went to put the heating on and found an old fashioned small loud fan heater, that an isolator only allowed you to use this or the cooker at only one time. Condensation ran down all the single glazed mouldy windows and off the toilet cistern leaving the bathroom floor constantly soaking. The shower gave out 3ltr a minute, and should be 8-9. (We measured this with the greasy jug) I could pee quicker. And it either scalded you or was freezing. The silicone was cracked and black and the tiles were black. Our children got no sleep as the chalet next to us had loud parties until well past 2am and sounded like there were in our bedroom. The arcade and soft play area were enjoyed by both the children and ourselves and the pool area was very clean but after 15 minutes our 3 year old turned blue with the cold as the pool wasn’t heated so we had to get out.
The car park was not big enough and the receptionist informed us there are more chalets than spaces , thankfully a lovely chap in the car park gave us the code to get into the lower end reserved parking.
By the end of our 3 night stay we referred to our accommodation as the concentration camp and we will never be returning. If only we’d checked trip advisor before we booked we would have found the majority of people rated this place as terrible!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jrich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B, General Manager at Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you jrich88 for your rather disappointing review. As you will notice from the reviews received so far this season you will note how well the accommodation is presented, I apologise that you found this not to be the case with your accommodation. Having researched this issue with our housekeeping, maintenance and reception teams I cannot find any reports relating to your issues, I can only find a request for a non slip mat that was made on the 24/3/18, had your issues been raised with us they would have been resolved very quickly. I have seen the photograph's posted on TripAdvisor. This accommodation issue is not the standard I expect us to deliver to our guests, please rest assured that this review and evidential photo's that support this will be acted upon and the issues will be resolved. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews