We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Contemporary coziness”

Review of Barns Cottage

Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Enjoy lunch 'al fresco'
Relax outdoors
Enjoy the mod cons in the kitchen
Welcome to Barns Cottage
Master bedroom with Castello natural stone bath
Sink into the sumptuous sofa
Chill out in the hot tub
Luxurious four poster bed
Clever triple bunks
Wetroom
Vaulted ceilings on top floor
Suspended Ergofocus fire with slate hearth
Surf art
View from the garden
Stone wendy house
Local wildlife on a walk nearby
The beach awaits you
Surfs up at Saunton
Local sea air rescue helicopter
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisa h
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Contemporary coziness”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brilliant barn conversion with fabulous airy living area and well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the hot tub while sipping champagne and the use of the outdoor fire in the evening was a delight. Bedrooms all very comfortable which made for a great nights sleep. Braunton centre a few minutes stroll away with some good restaurants. Would recommend SQ, Siam, Riverside and Williams Arms. Would definitely return to Barns Cottage as it was exactly what we needed as a break from uni and work. An incredibly relaxing space in a beautiful area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Barns Cottage and appreciated the hot tub and outdoor fire and the comfy bedrooms. Braunton and the surrounding areas really do have so much to offer, so there will be plenty for you to experience when you hopefully come back and visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jadenayya...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning property!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Currently staying at this beautiful cottage. It really has the wow factor from the minute you walk in! Very well thought out garden with a hot tub and table tennis. Well equipped kitchen and plenty of toys to keep the children entertained. A few minutes walking distance to braunton shops and restaurants. Lovely welcome pack and card from owners left on arrival.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
We're glad you loved your stay at Barns Cottage and made good use of the hot tub and table tennis. It really is nice and central and a lovely walk as you mentioned to the shops and restaurants along the Tarka Trail. You can also hire bikes and cycle for miles practically from the door of the house :) We're delighted that you've already booked to come back again in 2016!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen1962...
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Day visit to friends at Barn Cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful & smart contemporary barn conversion with imaginative garden, totally fantastic place for kids. Hot tub, table tennis, climbing wall, playhouse, great for hide & seek & 40/40! Interior expensively refurbished with high quality fittings & very relaxing. Parking more than 1 vehicle an issue, would need to park a street away if more than 1 car, but a pretty walk!
Fabulous rental, and I'm told the owners are very friendly & accommodating - lovely welcome basket too.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Hi, thanks so much for your complimentary review of Barns Cottage. It certainly is a great fun house, sometimes we find it quite hard to leave to go to the beach or on walks! As you mention, the garage can only accommodate one car but any other cars can be parked at the top of the lane about one minute's walk away. We're glad you loved it and hope to welcome you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty S
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What an amazing house. The kids absolutely loved the garden with the secret tunnel and the little stone house. The house was clean, cosy and very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comments about your stay at Barns Cottage. So glad your young children took full advantage of the garden and all it has to offer. We'd love to welcome you back one day and hopefully next time you'll be able to stay for longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could want”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Want a fantastic home in a great location. Arrived to find everything we could hope to wish for in a holiday home. Made my own house look second rate. Weather wasn't always the best but it didn't ruin the holiday in the slightest. Would love to be able to give a bad review just so I could make sure I was able to book this place whenever I liked but that wouldn't be fair to Barbara who through e-mails and a lovely welcome letter made us feel very much at home. I hope we will be back soon I'm missing the place even on the drive home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for the really lovely review of your stay at Barns Cottage. It always gives us such pleasure to find other families who seem to enjoy the house and what it has to offer as much as we do. I know what you mean about missing the place; we always feel a little sad when we leave Braunton - it's such an easy place to relax in - and we can't wait to go back there! Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you and your family back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing