We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
86
6
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
6
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feed the animals collect eggs apple juice the cottages fishing lake play room every morning short drive silver fish nestled away free range great education eggs and meat enclosed garden on arrival relaxing holiday little boy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Fantastic experience. Great education for the children. Loved the proximity to beaches, farm shop, chicken feeding, games room, wildlife trail, conservation efforts, tree swing and spotting a very rare bat!

Room tip: We stayed at Caen Byre Cottage which had a lovely view from every window and very close to games room and lawn for outdoor games.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greenmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Granary at Little Comfort Farm. Its a great location a short drive from excellent beaches and offers a really relaxing base with lots of facilities and grounds to explore. Our little boy loved being able to feed the animals with Jeremy who was a great host. We will be back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Little Comfort Farm is one of those places that the moment you leave you are already planning your next trip. Oozing charm, alive with wildlife, friendly welcoming hosts. We stayed on a family trip in Caen End cottage which although fairly basic inside sits in the most incredible spot overlooking the river. If you are lucky to have sunny days there is no better place to have a BBQ, after spending the day at one of the beautiful beaches under 20 mins away. You can go and collect eggs in the morning and pick up delicious apple juice and jam from the Farm shop. it will be fantastic to come back and stay when the cottages have been refurbished, as this is the only minor blemish. We’ll be back again and again. Thanks Jez and family!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Pros: Lovely authentic cottage, beautiful farm in a valley, great hosts, farmhouse cooking, close to dog-friendly beaches

Cons: None

We stayed at Little Comfort Farm with our 2 kids – 11 and 9 - and puppy over the Easter break. This is a real gem nestled away in the beautiful North Devon countryside. We stayed in ‘The Granary’ which was everything we wanted from an authentic farm cottage with log burner in the lounge (and unlimited supply of logs and kindling), dining area, two bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen. There was also a SmartTV and WIFI across the farm.

It was one of 5 cottages on the farm which is in a lovely secluded valley with endless rambling walks, stream running through the farm and a fishing lake. The farm owners, Jeremy and Jodie, were super hosts, who couldn’t do enough to make sure we had a great stay and even provide farmhouse cooked meals and other groceries delivered to your cottage before arrival – what a complete god send!

The farm is just 10-15 mins drive from some amazing dog friendly beaches including Saunton Sands and Woolacombe as well as a host of other attractions. But if you fancy a lazier day on the farm, there is lots to do too.

There is a games room (including table tennis and table football) and playroom for the kids, a fishing lake and the chance to feed the cows and chickens every morning with Jeremy. I have never seen our kids so eager to leave the house at 9am! Jeremy was also kind enough to take us out for a ‘Bat Watch’ one evening. There is also a farm shop onsite for any extras you need including the yummiest home-produced jam and the best apple juice you will probably ever taste produced from the farm’s own orchard.

There are loads of lovely walks and amazing views across the valley. I’d thoroughly recommend the walk through the farm to the local village of West Down where you can grab lunch at The Crown Inn (dog friendly) and them amble back (walk 30-45 mins each way).

We were unsure before arriving about how much we could let our puppy off the lead on the farm but Jeremy and Jodie were incredibly accommodating about how much she could scamper about plus every cottage has its own enclosed garden which gave us (and others without dogs!) a great balance of having freedom to be ‘free range’ around the farm without encroaching on anyone else’s space.

All in all, we couldn’t have had a more enjoyable, relaxing, welcoming stay at Little Comfort Farm and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a farm stay in this beautiful part of the world. Jeremy and Jodie are keen ecologists with some exciting renovation plans for the cottages and farm and we will definitely be going back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Just spent 1 week at Little Comfort Farm. I'll be leaving tomorrow with 2 muddy, river wet, exhausted but happy kids and 1 equally knackered dog.

The weather was pretty rubbish but it made no difference whatsoever. When we weren't at the beach, the kids just played outside. Building dams in the river, playing cricket, playing hide and seek.

Every morning the boys would meet Jeremy at 9ish to feed the animals (geese, chickens, cows and sheep) such a great thing for them to do. We'd send them off for logs for the wood burner to keep us toasty warm.

The living room has a really comfy sofa so we'd plop down on that watching TV. The floor is tiled which is fab when you have a soggyish dog. The kitchen is well equipped.

The beds are comfortable and we all had no issues sleeping.

Our last day the sun actually came out so we had a BBQ. The meat was bought from the farmshop. I've not tasted steak like that for a long time. SO great!!

It's very quiet here. Just the sound of the river, birds and farm animals.

If you need a quiet rural break come here for a week.

Only things to bring are towels, bath toiletries and food. Buy your eggs and meat at the onsite farmshop.That's it.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews