We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I spent Christmas 2011 at the Duke of Richmond again. Several other guests had come back for their fourth or fifth visit. As ever, the staff from the manager, Stephen Purtill, downwards went to great trouble to ensure everyone had a great time. The fact that many of the staff have been there for many years shows they are happy, and happy staff result in good service and happy customers. I hope that the take-over by the Red Carnation Group gives this great team many opportunities to show how good a hotel can be. My concern is that the new owners will raise the price with few extra benefits.

Wheel-chair accessibility is good between the better bedrooms, the dining room and bar. However access from the lobby to the lift need a ramp to be put in place, while the residents' lounge can only be reached by climbing about six steps.

Room Tip: 115 and 117 have a connecting door which can be unlocked. 117 has a walk-in shower and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 704 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Finding your room was an adventure in itself, the hotel is old & in places it does show. The room was comfortable & quite large. The restaurant was very good, the food & service excellent. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here for 1 night on business, the room although clean was so so not the best equiped and a little aged.
Breakfast was good but average. i did not eat here in the evening so cannot comment fully on the food. I did not use the pool as the weather was poor on my visit.

Room Tip: Read others reviews and my one night may not be best to give you the best impression.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Everything about the roomwas fine, although the bed was slightly small from where we stayed two weeks previously...I like the girls knocking on our door around 6:30 pm offering all sorts (toiletries, packet powdered beverage and selections of cookies) from their trays of goodies. The hotel bar was excellent..quaint and cozy...with the lovely George serving us most of the time...he also looks after the people dining @ the terrace...i had a super fillet steak, beautifully cooked just how i like with side dishes of my choice...my husband and anoTher friend had a mexican dish...generous portions and scrumptuous till their hearts content...and Pat had Seafood Linguini,Good choice with good helping of king prawns...The last dinner of our stay, George made a special request to the Chef to make us a variety of Seafood Platter...ahhhh! It was Superb meal...shame about the wireless that keeps cutting off and not connecting quite often...waste of money....which we found out that the new management is not going to charge the use of Wi-fi in the future...all in all, we left happy and had good memories of our stay in the Duke of Richmond and guernsey itself...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sakuraneneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We loved staying at the Duke of Richmond Hotel! The staff was outstanding. The meals were excellent. I loved the breakfast variety, and their mushroom truffel soup was some of the best I'd ever had. The rooms were comfortable and well kept. St. Peter Port and Guernsey are a great place to visit, and I think you would be well advised to stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the patio where we could sit and eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
1.4 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
693 reviews
2.4 km away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around St Peter Port

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $194 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing