We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quintessential Irish Experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stream runs through garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Stream runs through garden
Double Room
Twin Room
Utility room with washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Knock, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
montanagi...
Conrad, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quintessential Irish Experience!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Imagine my delight upon entering the yard and finding the cottage of my dreams! It felt like I had walked into one of the scenes from the Irish novels I am so fond of. The décor is something which could be featured in "Country Living" magazine down to the last detail. A cozy stove, the table laid to tea including the best soda bread in Ireland, a country lane to walk, everything my heart could desire!!! Even when the weather was inclement, the cottage was a haven from the elements, allowing me time to sit next to the stove, catch up on my reading, and drink even more tea (of course). It seemed far off the beaten path at first but is very conveniently located to the town of Knock, Claremorris, and Ballyhaunis. Lynda the owner was staying in the main house and I enjoyed sharing a cup of tea on several occasions and learning more about the cottage. Catherina (the baker of the wonderful bread) shared her dog, Ben. He and I had many lovely walks together. I would recommend this cottage if you want to have a fabulous Irish experience, peace and quiet, and a great base location for touring the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and feel of the place and the area.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Y
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and solace”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this beautiful peaceful place to get away from the hussle and bustle of everyday life... All your needs can be met in this beautifully renovated cottage.. Whilst your emotional solace and relaxing can be met in the peaceful surroundings.. Totally recommend .. Ssssh don't tell anyone x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
What a lovely review, thanks so much! Lynda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrysterMo...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful cottage. Three of us stayed here (myself, my fiance & my fiances mammy - in her 70's) & all of us were blown away by the peaceful surroundings, the cosy atmosphere within the cottage itself & the home away from home feeling we all had. The only noise you can hear whilst sat outside in the sunshine is the birds singing, or if you choose to sit closer to the small stream, the relaxing sound of running water. Clearly a lot of time & effort has been put into this cottage. A good sign that guests are treated well is when we had an issue with the shower (turns out the thermostat had gone) & the electric fire in the main room (it was making a strange noise) we contacted the owner in the morning & by the time we had returned a few hours later it was all fixed. The owner even put additional euro's in the electric meter as the fire had been on a while to make sure it was fixed. If you want to get away from it all & stay in a relaxing, clean & very comfortable cottage then you couldn't go far wrong if you chose this place. We also got the company of Ben - the cheeky springer from up the road, lovely dog & put on a smile on all of our faces!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella...
County Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great Weekend Away!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My partner and I recently spent 3 nights in this cosy cottage. We arrived late on a Thursday on a chilly evening to step into the warmth and comfort of Lynda's cottage. Lamps, fairy lights, the fireplace and soda bread laid out, all indicated that this was going to be a relaxing trip. The cottage was beautifully decorated and had every amenity and utensil you could need. It was in a secluded area but was only 5km from Knock village which is close to many attractions such as Westport, Galway and of course Knock itself.
I would definitely recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a romantic weekend to escape from the hectic day-to-day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy for me! I do hope you return. Best wishes, Lynda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous, homely cottage”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We came over to Mayo to see my Mum who lives in Ballyhaunis and nothing in that area struck us. We saw this cottage and it looked gorgeous. The setting was lovely and I imagine in the summer it is great to sit out in the garden, in peace and quiet, and have a glass of wine or two. In true Irish style, the weather was wet and wild, and although in a remote location, the instructions to get to the cottage were spot on. The response to emails and questions from Lynda and Catharina was great - prompt and informative. On arrival at the cottage on a damp, dark Sunday evening, the lamps were lit, and the cottage looked very inviting and homely. Homely it was - we had been left a loaf of the most delicious bread, butter and jam. Added to this the little extra's of chocolates and cereal bars we felt very welcome. We had bought a toothbrush at the airport but needn't have worried as this could have been provided also. Shower gels, shampoo etc all in
the bathroom. There was everything anyone could have needed, a full range of utensils in the kitchen, just like being home from home. The cottage is 200+ years old and so was a bit chilly on arrival, but we put on the fire and by the time the central heating had kicked in properly it was cosy. Probably bring slippers as the floors are quite cold. The beds are very comfortable and we had a very relaxing few days. Definitely recommended. There are lots of information leaflets in the cottage, but a lot of Mayo appears to be closed for the Christmas holidays - museums, etc shut between November and March. Some lovely restaurants in Claremorris though to eat. This is 12 km away so not that far. If you want to eat in Ballyhaunis, need to pre-book a table at Val's Bistro as this is the only place to eat - seemed popular, but maybe as it's the only restaurant open there, although the desserts we saw did look inviting. Would definitely book this cottage again. A car is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and lack of wi fi
Liked least: Door a bit stiff to unlock
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing