We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable holiday !”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Outside Gardens of Achill Cottages
Upstairs Twin Bedroom
Sitting Room with roaring open turf fire
Chill Out
Kitchen
Kitchen
Upstairs Bathroom with Shower
Downstairs Showeroom
Keel Beach From Minaun Heights
Surfing Keel Beach
Achill Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Achill Sound, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
mum_and_3...
Bray, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable holiday !”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house was super ! Very clean, spacious and quiet - it had everything that you could possibly need. Stephen (owner) was very helpful and I would not hesitate in recommending it as a base to explore Achill Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenandJan...
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accommodation in quiet spot on beautiful island location”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelled with my wife, plus elderly parents. My father, at 85, suffers a number of health problems so needed accommodation where everything on ground floor with easy access for him. So that was a major driver. This accommodation ideal, whilst rooms upstairs also a twin room downstairs with walk in shower, also kitchen area and lounge all on ground floor level so really well thought out and he loved his time there as did my mother. Visiting relatives on Achill so was a perfect base and easy ten minute walk into Achill Sound if wanted to go for a quiet drink.......no such thing in Achill!. Great stay, hope to return next year. Steve and Rosaleen could not have been more helpful. Stayed for a week and really had an enjoyable break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like it all round but as had elderly parents with the accessibility was perfect and well thought through.
Liked least: No issues at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doyleange...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jimmy's 70th birthday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Loved the cottage - (NOT a cottage at all but a two storied building. Very clean and lots of room for all of our family. Only issue is that it was noisy for me (light sleeper) but I brought my earplugs and managed to sleep well. Stephen was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again with friends or family. Thank you Stephen and Mrs for lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace J
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all had a wonderful time in Achill, this is the second time that we have stayed in the cottages and we will be back again. The cottages are centrally located and have every amenity a young family might need, you do get comfortable very quickly and it just seems too short a time before your packing all your things up!. Stephen is very hospitable and the children always look forward to the jellies he gives them on departure.....and we do too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan C
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I think firstly, I should acknowledge the super communication we had with our hosts, the Corrigan's, whom promptly emailed replies to questions or queries we had. Similarly, we were provided with contact details in the event, we ran into any problems making our way to Achill.
We booked for the half term week (UK) of 26-29 May. The directions we were given were excellent, we found our way to the cottages without any difficulty. We were warmly met on arrival and shown to our cottage. The cottage itself is modern, clean and had everything provided that we would need. Everything was explained to us and we were left with a very good idea of what to do and where to go on the Island. Our hosts lived not so far away (and not too near), so were always available.
With the Island measuring 15 miles wide and 10 miles long (at there most), you would think there wasn't much to do, wrong! The Island has 5 blue flag beaches, all very picturesque, very safe cycling routes, water sports, mountain climbing and horse riding to name a few.
As is customary in Ireland, there were many pubs and good happy people.
Definitely recommend it, though would prefer to keep it a secret.
Thank you to the Corrigans, we will no doubt see you again.
The Chana clan.



Corrigans

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing