We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th anniversary stay on Glendalough Ireland”
Review of Derrymore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glendalough Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derrymore House
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Derrymore house was a perfect place to start our Ireland adventure. Penny was very nice and her house in lovely with excellent views! Our room and bath were specious and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, especially if you are lucky enough to be there when Penny has cooked her home made raspberry filled muffins! Just across the street from the park, the home is so quiet and peaceful. A friendly pub is just a short walk down a very quiet road. We loved our stay here and only wish it could have been a longer one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice enough, friendly enough and best position of any accommodation in area. You can see the lake and walk to all the historic sites, which are all around. Plenty of tourists at the sites during the day, but it is calm at night. We liked the Wicklow Heather resto for a good meal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thrilldog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Perfect location for exploring Glendalough. Great restaurant nearby. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The owner was very responsive and friendly. Have nothing bad to say about this place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had an amazing 3 days long stay at the Derrymore House! Pat was very responsive by email when we were planning our trip and Penny took very, very good care of us while we were there! The breakfast is everything you can dream of and we could never finish all our food. The lunch packs provided on demand are perfect to take on a hike or day trip to the coast.

The house is beautiful and our room was very comfortable and well equipped (the bed was particularly amazing, we hadn't slept that well in months!). It looks like the whole house was redone recently and all the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We immediately loved the place when we got there!

The house is a bit out of the town, in a very quiet road and is ideally located if you want to hike on some of the trails in the Wicklow Mountains: one of the trails goes just across the road from the house and will take you to the information center (where the other trails start) in just 5 min.

Being exactly 1hour drive away from Dublin airport, we are really hoping to make the Derrymore House a regular stop when travelling from the US to France.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CynthiaG12718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Even more beautiful than the photographs in the travel books, Glendalough is at once peaceful and spectacular. And you can see the lake and the surrounding fifty shades of green from your bedroom window at Derrymore House. The grounds around the house itself are gorgeous (see the photos), the house is quite comfortable, and we had the best Irish breakfast of our recent ten-day trip. You'll feel welcomed, rested, refreshed, and inspired (and well-fed). With notice the day before, you can get freshly packed lunches for a small additional fee, but breakfast is included in the reasonable room rate. Penny looked after us very well--she's a lovely, remarkable person, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendalough Village hotels
0 km away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
555 reviews
0 km away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
186 reviews
0 km away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrymore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrymore House

Address: Derrymore Lake Road, Glendalough Village RVY 44PO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glendalough Village
Price Range: $105 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Derrymore House Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing