We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellen Food”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed in the Glenview Hotel last weekend for 2 nights. On arrival the staff were very pleasant at reception, however the room we were given was at the back of the hotel and very dark and had a window with mould on it and also the dressing table and table were badly scratched and looked terrible. On explaining this to the receptionist and duty manager she agreed to upgrade us to a lovely suite overlooking the Glen which had stunning views.
We had dinner in the bar on the Friday night which was excellent. We dined in the restaurant on saturday night which was even better and the food is well priced.
I would give the bar and restaurant 5/5 in terms of the food quality, price and service.
The breakfast was the low point. Very average buffet. On the sunday morning we ordered poached eggs off the menu which were lovely when they arrived but took over 20 mins. In fairness it was very busy.
Overall a pleasant stay but the breakfast needs upgrading with a bit more selection and better quality scrambled eggs, rashers & sausages.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlQuinn, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which I have shared with my team.

I would like to apologise for your disappointing breakfast experience This matter has been passed to our Head Chef for his attention.

I was delighted to hear that overall you had a very pleasant stay, that you were very happy with your accommodation, you enjoyed the quality of food and service received from the team.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel on your next visit to Co. Wicklow.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Visited Glenview hotel for 2 nights. Ask for a room with views of the glen. Very spacious rooms with big windows and great views. Comfortable large double bed. 2 comfortable armchairs. Spotlessly clean. Looks like it was recently refurbished. Restaurant only opens on Friday and Saturday nights. Food was great in the bar although service was very slow even though it was quiet. Staff very friendly. My only disappointment was breakfast. Very basic for a 4 star hotel. Despite this would recommend this hotel. Perfectly situated for walking and exploring the wicklow area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlQuinn, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for finding the time to share your impressions after staying here with us at the Glenview hotel.

I would like to apologise for the slow service received and for your disappointing breakfast experience. Please be assured these issues will be followed up with the relevant departments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, the comfort of your room, our location and the food in the Conservatory Bistro. Your recommendation is also very much appreciated.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We went for an overnight stay on a Thursday night in September. The pics attached show the room we stayed in and we were impressed with the whole hotel. The room was big, comfy and had a stunning view of the countryside. We had a nice nespresso machine also which was great for me! A very big modern bathroom and all the usual toiletries provided.

The pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were great. It was very relaxing! It's a busy pool with swimming classes etc. but they don't interfere with the relaxing time.

The bar area was busy as there were loads of conferences on. Staff were polite etc. but in some cases seemed a bit overwhelmed by the amount of customers around and were forgetting things but it's a small thing in the overall picture.

The lady in reception, whose name escapes me, was lovely on check-in and check-out. Very friendly and full of chat. Overall very impressed and would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlQuinn, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at the Glenview Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that overall you were very impressed and you would be happy to recommend us.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back and thank you in person for your custom and this lovely review of the Glenview Hotel.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We stopped at beautiful Glen of the Downs and popped into the Glenview hotel for a cuppa. The waitress ignored us for some minutes and then asked sullenly if 'we were okay for everything ?''. I asked for three teas which duly arrived and were practically thrown on the table. Biscuits went flying -there was a half hearted apology and an abrupt word which sounded like 'enjoy'. Lovely place, pity about the service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 16egan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlQuinn, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,

I am truly disappointed with your comments regarding the poor service received. We are a family friendly hotel with a fantastic, professional team that take a personal pride in the hotel and it's guests experiences. I am sorry to hear that this is not what you experienced on this occasion.

This is a matter we take very seriously and suffice it to say that the issues highlighted by you will be addressed and dealt with accordingly.

I would appreciate if you intend returning to the Glenview on a future occasion that you contact me directly when it will be a pleasure to make arrangement personally for you.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Just got home today from a stay at the Glenview and I couldn't fault a thing. The reception staff were really friendly letting us check in early and upgrading our room. The views are amazing. The food in the restaurant lovely and the restaurant and bar staff couldn't do enough for you. The location is fantastic. It's so easy to find off the motorway yet when you reach the hotel you would think you're in the middle of nowhere with all the trees around you. The health club was also great. We made use of the outdoor jacuzzi. This is my 3rd visit to the glenview and I will definitely be back again many more times.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank jennymc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlQuinn, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued custom. We are so pleased to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,164 reviews
7.1 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
32.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
639 reviews
14.2 km away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
6.9 km away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $119 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing