We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Situated some 5 miles south of Bray, adjacent to the N11 and ideally placed to enjoy County Wicklow and it's beautiful scenery. We stayed for two nights at the end of August. As soon as you enter the hotel the ambience tells you that you have made a good choice. Reception staff were welcoming and efficient and our executive room on the first floor had a spectacular view of the glen to the front of the hotel. The room was bright, spacious and had a balcony and the king sized bed was very comfortable. The adjoining bathroom was perhaps a little dated but any shortcomings were compensated for by the power shower and quality of the towels. Our evening meal was excellent with one of the best lamb kormas I have ever tasted. Breakfast was equally good with a comprehensive range to meet all tastes. Service at all meals was excellent with friendly, attentive staff. Although I did not use the leisure facilities my wife very much enjoyed the swimming pool and she also had an excellent pedicure in the 'Haven' spa. We will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 202. Alternatively first floor to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Glenview hotel for your recent visit to Co. Wicklow and for taking the time to post a review.

It is a pleasure to note your comments regarding the comfort of your room, your dining experience in our award winning Woodlands Restaurant with magnificent views of the Glen, our Leisure Club facilities, your wife's spa treatment and the service received from the friendly attentive team.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Glenview on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

We stayed at the Glenview Hotel the Saturday night of the recent August Bank holiday. It was a last minute booking and we availed of one of the executive rooms for the night. Our price included dinner (in the bistro) and b&b. We did have to pay an additional 30euros for a camp bed for our 3 year old daughter as there were no family rooms available! She stayed all of 5 mins in it before hopping into our spacious bed!
On arrival we checked in and were delighted to hear our room was ready even though we arrived at 12pm. The room was lovely, very spacious with a couch and 2 arm chairs. The bathroom was equally impressive as was our view of the Glen.
We ate lunch in the bistro which was lovely & then headed to the swimming pool. This was great, loads of room and fun. We spent a couple of hours there and enjoyed the Jacuzzi & the outdoor tub.
Our evening meal in the bistro was delicious and the staff excellent! We had a few power outages but didn't take from the fun & enjoyment. Our little girl was made feel very welcome & the staff were so great with her. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and the view from the breakfast room lovely - hotel could have done cleaning the expansive window as it was quite grubby and very noticeable when sitting overlooking the Glen.
We had a lovely ramble in the grounds after breakfast and then hit the pool for a couple of hours.
Overall a lovely stay and very enjoyable. My only upset and something that has tainted my visit was I left my kindle in the room on departure and only realised when home. After contacting the hotel on 3 different occasions to see if it had been located (despite me telling them where exactly it was and that it hadnt left the room), it never showed up. I was disappointed with the hotels lack of response to this despite my absolute assurances it was left in the room! This alone would make think twice about returning even though we had a lovely time!

Room Tip: Executive roomworth the extra for space & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor following your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including your accommodation, your breakfast, evening meal experience, our leisure facilities and the welcoming friendly staff.

I am sorry to hear your kindle that you believe was left in your room has gone missing. We have a lost property policy in place. All items that are left behind in the bedrooms are brought straight away to Reception. The Receptionist will endeavour to make contact with the guest immediately. All valuable items are locked away safely until claimed.

I would appreciate if you could call me at the hotel as I would like to investigate this issue further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Karl Quinn
Deputy General Manager
01 2740000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I didn't stay but was attending a wedding there. I must say I thought the service and staff were excellent with one waiter even going to get his own charger to charge my cousin's phone. The food was yummy too. Discreet and friendly service

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pinklipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent time at the wedding you were attending in the Glenview Hotel. I will pass on your kind words to the team and your special mention for the waiter who provided his charger to charge your cousins phone. I am sure he will be so happy with the special mention.

We are so fortunate to have such a fantastic, professional team that take a personal pride in the hotel and it's guests experiences.

We do hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Quinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Lovely spacious room, overlooking car oar, not the glen, but quiet anyway. Restaurant is excellent, attentive, friendly service, beautiful view, well priced. Tried the bistro bar, which is more suitable for families maybe, but much preferred the restaurant, warm bread rolls and lemon sorbet provided free of charge, the vegetarian lasagne wad so good my husband had it twice. Handy for Bray and not far from kilmainham Gaol, Glasnevin cemetery, botanic gardens, just along the M50.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maryb2107pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views of your recent stay at the Glenview Hotel.

I have passed on your lovely feedback to the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities in our Hotel and the surrounding areas and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview again soon.

Kind regards,

Karl Quinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed at the glenview last weekend rooms 310 & 312 beautiful executive rooms at the front of hotel. Bright, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but a little slow getting served. Dinner in the bistro was lovely good helpings well presented. Hotel is well situated for touring around wicklow. A scenic drive round Sally's glen is a must. Easy to find glenview exit junction 9. Thank you to all at glenview fir a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Executive rooms at front of hotel overlooking the glen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jencodown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel

It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Karl Quinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,127 reviews
32.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,049 reviews
16.7 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
5.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
532 reviews
5.9 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $122 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing