We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians / Vegans poorly catered for in the fine dining restaurant”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I went there for lunch this Sunday and was disappointed as a vegetarian to have only one a starter option (goats cheese), followed by only one main option (again of goats cheese) - quiche. I was not in a position to ask for further "off menu" options as I was a guest and did not want to make a fuss, but clearly the menu planner has given no thought to vegetarian eaters, and there were no vegan options at all. The accompanying side vegetables were tasteless, overcooked and most likely frozen, which is fine if I had been having bar food, but not what I expected from the prices charged. Likewise the quiche was not good, with a clash of flavours that did not sit happily together, and not what I would expect at a fine dining restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing meal experience in the Woodlands Restaurant.

It is unfortunate you did not mention this to one of our staff on the day, as the satisfaction of our guests is of highest priority and if we were made aware of your dissatisfaction we would have been more than happy to offer you another option.

I have passed your comments to the Chef for his attention. We really appreciate your feedback. All comments whether positive or constructive help us to improve our service to our guests..

I very much regret not having had the opportunity of resolving your dissatisfaction prior to your departure and I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Glenview Hotel on a future occasion to restore your confidence.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 322 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

I have nothing to add with regard to our stay last Saturday the 13th February. It was a lovely break and we enjoyed the food, the health centre, the room everything. Our stay was relaxing and excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank declin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you had a lovely break with us and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This has to be so far one of the best short stay hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. From arrival to departure every need we had was catered for. Breakfast, lunches and dinners all a la carte. Delicious meals and desserts. We indulged in treatments from the therapists there, this was the only area I felt the need for improvement considering how big the hotel is a bigger area is needed to cater for this side of the business. The grounds are stunning plenty of walks available. Then relax in the outdoor hot tub and indoor swimming pool and leisure facilities. This place is amazing and I will definitely be back. Stunning and sensational and worth a visit if you ever in County Wicklow.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your excellent review. I am so pleased to read you had an "absolutely amazing" short break with us and you will definitely be back to visit us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My husband spent a night here recently. It wasn't our first visit to this hotel. What I like about it. I love the reading lounge where you can sit for hours and read your paper or a book.our bedroom was fine but a little small. I kept bumping into the furniture. We dined in the main restaurant ...can't remember it's name but it wasn't the conservatory bistro. The food was pleasant but I felt a little overpriced. There is a woodland walk around the hotel but I couldn't do it as the ground was way too wet. I went for about a 15 minute walk around the road. What I really love about this hotel is the totally relaxed atmosphere and I would go there again purely to sit and maybe have afternoon tea in that lovely reading room

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corneliaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read you had a very relaxing break and you hope to make a return visit in the future.

Your continued custom is very much appreciated.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

As a business traveller had all i needed. free wifi, complimentary access to well equipped gym with current and modern equipment and parking. Ample areas in the foyer to relax and be able to work. Breakfast was as expected. Friendly staff all round.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RjT_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am so pleased to read you feel the Glenview Hotel is "one of the best hotels you've stayed in in Ireland".

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,169 reviews
7.1 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
32.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
643 reviews
14.2 km away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
5.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $120 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing