We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility in Wicklow”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting in the Glen of the Downs, with plenty of free parking. Availed of a special overnight offer of €54 B&B for two people. We got a spacious room on the 1st floor, warm and cosy and very clean. A large, comfortable bed ensured a good night’s sleep. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly with no delays whatsoever. We were able to avail of the facilities in the Leisure Centre – there’s a sauna and steam room and several Jacuzzis dotted around the recesses in the pool. There’s also an outdoor hot tub and we were a bit disappointed to find it was not operational on the day we were there. The Glenview have a very good Table D’Hote dinner menu for €30 per person – excellent value by any standards. We had a window table, and even though it was dark and we couldn’t enjoy the beautiful scenery outside, we could see the ribbons of car lights piercing the darkness as they wound their way up and down the N11 – the only evidence of night-time activity in this tranquil setting. The meal was absolutely delicious, beautifully cooked and presented and the service was very good. We also had a window table at breakfast and this time we were able to enjoy views of the sleepy valley below us that was slowly beginning to wake up in the crisp winter sunshine. Breakfast was very good, but there was an absence of scrambled eggs. We asked for them, and they were delivered, but it took some time. Quite a few diners asked for scrambled eggs too so perhaps the Glenview could look at providing these for breakfast. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable stay, we would highly recommend it, and will go back for a visit at another time.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a room at the front of the hotel when you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Thank you for your comments I will ensure our team are aware of them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 901 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Pleasant helpful staff. delicious reasonably priced good food. great choice and selection of breakfasts with stunning view from the dining room . Kids club for kids with swimming pool and lovely walk around the woods. Good sized family rooms (some a little dark though - could you not cut those trees at the back and let light in?)

We just keep coming back here for family breaks because there is nothing to fault.

Thanks again for a lovely and memorable family break during mid-term and hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: light floods into the front rooms but the back family rooms are dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2plus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Thank you so much for the comments the team will be delighted. keep an eye out for our great post Christmas deals for families. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Enjoyed a 4 night stay here. Booked with Supervalu breaks, 3 nights B&B for €99 per person incl. dinner.

Had e-mailed in advance requesting a room at the front which we got. Check in was very efficient and good information given about hotel facilities, etc. Room was nice and very clean.

Ate in the bar on the first evening, food was good but quite pricey, a more simple/economic menu may be better.

Dinner in restaurant on other evening was very good. Again, requested a table by the window which we got. Food in restaurant was very good.

Breakfast each morning was also good, decent choice at the buffet and service was efficient and prompt. Had lunch in the lounge one day which was fine, and served up by very friendly girl.

Used the swimming pool twice. First day was very busy with kids etc. Second day was quieter. Outdoor hottub seemed to be shut or out of order which was a pity. The changing rooms were in good shape, clean, etc.

Receptionist at check out was also very friendly and efficient, and enquired as to how stay was.

Overall, a very good experience and would definately return to this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Thank you for the lovely comments the team will be delighted, look out for our special offers over the coming months.

hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I feel a bit mean by not being more positive about this hotel as I can't really pick out anything too bad with it but to me it seems like a hotel that was once a very nice 4* hotel but unfortunately the years have not been too kind to it. Walking up the stairs to my floor the carpet was very worn. I paid for an upgrade room I don’t really know what that got me as the room was very basic maybe the other rooms were smaller I can't really comment on this but ours was just adequate. We did get a bottle of water in the room but I would have appreciated a glass to go with it and little things like a facecloth in the bathroom and body lotion just little things really but things that make all the difference between 3* & 4*. I was disappointed with both breakfast and dinner nothing really special and orange juice was terrible in the morning. I spent a weekend lately in a 4* lately in Westport and maybe that has tainted my view but that is what I call a 4* hotel. Unfortunately we stayed during the flooding on east side of country so it didn't help that we had to stay so much in hotel but the leasure centre was nice. Would I stay here again - if I had business in that area but not really for a leasure break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deircon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Thank you so much for your comments I will ensure they are passed on to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Myself and 27 friends stayed in the glenview Oct 15 for a work get together. we were given a function room at no extra cost. The food was great both in the bar earlier in the day and from the restruant on the night. breakfast next morning was also good. The rooms were clean, some bigger than others. Rooms had tea and coffee faciluties which I love as You can never have enough tea!!! This was our 2nd reunion in this hotel so I think this is recomendation enough!!!!

Room Tip: Upperfloor rooms may be larger than those on the ground floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myraom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Thank A million for the lovely comments, I will make sure the full team are aware of them. hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,130 reviews
32.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,051 reviews
16.7 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
5.9 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
634 reviews
5.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: $120 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing