We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
683
350
194
108
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
350
194
108
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews go karts pet farm kids club train ride crazy golf santa train indoor play area family den petting zoo mini farm santa experience great for kids mini golf child friendly hotel swimming pool play zone family break
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This was our third visit to the amber springs and we would also have recommended to friends in the past. The hotel does have some good facilities particular for younger kids like karting, train rides and mini golf, however on this occasion our stay was somewhat spoiled by very poor service.

The below is just one example but was pretty much repeated at every meal:
• Waiting to be seated while staff chatted.
• Had to ask for menus to which the waiter responds did I not give them to you?
• Jackets and hoodies back on as restaurant was freezing.
• Had to ask for our order to be taken.
• Food took a long time but was good when it finally arrived.
• Drinks order forgotten.
• No spoon for soup.
• Drinks arrived but where wrong.
• Nobody asked if everything was Ok, standard practise?
• Gave up waiting for someone to take payment so just left money at till.
• Staff where either too busy, unhelpful or just plain rude.
The stairway we used to access our room from the back of the hotel was also filthy from the building work going on although the general level of cleanliness was passable.
I had intended mentioning this when checking out but rather than the usual “did you enjoy your stay” I got a “goodbye!”

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Aidan M,
I take what you have said on board and I would appreciate if you could contact my F&B manager on pcanty@amberspringshotel.ie and he will make this right, on a positive note as process improvement we are are delighted to announce that we are currently developing our buffet restaurant, a new drinks only custom built bar, a cinema, new kids club & toddler and wobbler zone a long with a sensory room which will allow a little quiet time for those who need it. look forward to welcoming you back ever so soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is a hotel for families. Be prepared for kids, kids and more kids. Baby sitting Service we used through the hotel was great. Trish, Trisha and Katie were absolutely lovely. Den rooms were a big hit and perfect if you needed to put a younger child to sleep and then enjoy some tv/adult time.
Ashleigh was a gem in the bar. The spa staff were lovely but our kids really loved the Easter egg train. Mad Hatter, Alice, Queen of hearts etc you were fabulous and it helped that the sun shone when we were on the Easter egg hunt.
If it doesn’t shine please go to Kia Ora indoor petting zoo which is a 6/7 mile trip from the hotel and is fab.
Very busy and didn’t suit us in some ways as our youngest at 3 and a half was too young for the kids club unattended, our 13!year old was too old but not old enough to stay and mind the younger child. Our 11 year old was caught in the middle!
Anyhow it was a good break despite the weather. Had a nice meal in the Kitchen which was recommended by a sold out Duck @ Marlfield house.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank rosalinda180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Roaalind A,
much thanks for your kind and constructive review, I do take on board what you say about the early teens, I do have a VR room available for them and as process improvement we are are delighted to announce that we are currently developing our buffet restaurant, a new drinks only custom built bar, a cinema, new kids club & toddler and wobbler zone a long with a sensory room which will allow a little quiet time for those who need it. look forward to welcoming you back ever so soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

First impressions were good friendly staff at reception and checked in very quickly, rooms were very spacious..staff in bar were awful had lunch and dinner here on the first day but didnt return the 2nd day.. our lunch arrived out for half of us while others were sitting with no food while we were eating. dinner time my our big ordr was takin by a girl that memorised it in her head didnt write anything down needless to say it all didnt arrive and even after asking a second time it still didnt come and all they said was oh sorry about that.. bar staff looked like they didnt want to be there at all and as for the staff in the breakfast room they were either understaffed or just looked like they had the weight of the world on their shoulders.. staff need a serious training course on customer service..

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CharlotteF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear CharlotteF21,
thank you so much for your constructive review, I have passed your message to my F&B Manager and he would love to discuss directly and recover this situation, if you could contact him directly on pcanty@amberspringshotel.ie I would appreciate it , thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We are just back from a few days in this hotel with our kids. It was absolutely perfect for a family getaway. I found the staff just lovely particularly Thecla and Lena in the restaurant. We can't wait to go back there.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KF10Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear KF10Ireland,
thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it and will pass on your kind words to Lena, we are a building in constant change & we are delighted to announce that we are currently developing, our buffet restaurant, a new drinks only custom built bar,a cinema, new kids club & toddler and wobbler zone a long with a sensory room which will allow a little quiet time for those who need it. look foreward to welcoming you back ever so soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I read the reviews after booking unfortunately or I would definitely have cancelled. However it is not free cancellation so we went on ahead hoping for the best and thinking it couldn't be that bad. It is.. the rooms are ok, however we had specifically rang and booked a double single room we got a double and 2 singles, not a big deal but just an example of the lack of attention to detail. While on the subject of rooms, they are not cleaned very well during the stay, no fresh towels old ones in the bath re folded and hung up! Glasses not changed and dirty ones left behind, beds made but that is it. We stayed mid week therefore with a child the only choice was to eat in the bar, food and menu is ok nothing special.. was served a flat Fanta which was eventually replaced after 20 mins. In agreement with other reviews staff are not very well trained in customer service. On the first morning we ventured to the kids playroom, soft play area is extremely cold as is everywhere in this hotel, hubby located radiator and switched it on which helped.. we then went outside to explore, petting farm and outdoor play area are good unfortunately weather wasn't great so we went to go back indoors to find doors locked! We found a door into the bar(which hadn't opened yet) open. There seemed to be some sort of meeting between managers going on when we got in, despite apologising for intruding and explaining the door we went out was locked, we got no response and were blatantly stared at! (Not an exaggeration) we then visited the pool which is fine if you make it that far without catching hypothermia from the changing rooms, unbelievably cold, we didn't bother changing in them during our stay just took towels and ran for it! (Don't ask for a dressing gown they are for spa guests only) for a children's hotel it is pretty mean not to turn on any heating in the pool changing rooms I thought. The breakfast isn't great either, fruit looks old maybe from the day before.. one girl on her own in the breakfast room, saw guests giving up waiting to be seated after waiting so long for anyone to come and just going to tables.. ordered a boiled egg and was finished my food by the time it arrived, I could go on! Staff on reception are constantly on the phone but even if you do get ones attention they aren't very helpful and don't bother asking for suggestions or information about nearby outings or day trips. The coffee bar in reception is lovely though couldn't fault it. Will never stay here again and am genuinely baffled how it won such a prestigious award last year. I hope if you read this you save your money, it really is such a disappointment of a place definitely not worth the price tag.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
8  Thank Delia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSpringsGM, General Manager at Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear reviewer,
I have reviewed your constructive feedback, I apologise for any shortcomings you had and am dissapointed that these were not raised to us when you stayed with us 4 months ago, we have done a huge amount of work since you stayed with us in January & feel we have improved our product immensely especially our pool changing areas which have been totally refurbished, I do hope if you visited us again you would see our effort to improve and constantly move foreward
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews