We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best banana bread there is in Dublin”
Review of Newbarn Farm

Newbarn Farm
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Ashbourne
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I am not even kidding saying this, but they sell the most tasty banana bread you can find. When we go there we buy minimum 3 loafs.

Their local restaurant is of good quality too with various menu. Good thing is that you can go roam around with small kids around the farm while food is prepared so they are kept busy :)

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 771sergejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the barn"
in 6 reviews
"ducks and geese"
in 3 reviews
"fresh veg"
in 2 reviews
"full irish"
in 2 reviews
"lovely restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"beef"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 3 reviews
"small kids"
in 3 reviews
"sausage"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"pigs"
in 8 reviews
"shop"
in 12 reviews
"goats"
in 5 reviews
"visitors"
in 6 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Children will love Newbarn Farm, it’s close to Dublin on the Old Ashbourne Road just before the roundabout before Ashbourne Village. It is probably the best farm for children to view the animals up close.
The barn contains a market selling vegetables and food plus Danny’s Curiosity Shop. I bought a book from him today.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The main reason for me visiting the farm is the restaurant on site. The farm itself is just ok and increasingly seems like an after thought to the restaurant which is a shame. There are also a few geese which are very bad tempered and with bully and harass children feeding the chickens. The farmer seems to think this is funny! The shop is ok not as well priced as some big chainstores but that's to be expected and I'd estimate that only about 30% of the produce is grown on site.
The restaurant is well worth a visit though. The food is tasty and the protein sizes are very good as is the service. The price is very reasonable too. I used to visit regularly and for myself with a main and my two boys with main and desert with a jug of cordial it would usually cost less than €30

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Easy access to the animals, the ducks and geese alone are hilarious.
The Shed restaurant serves wonderful fresh food, the daily soups are unique.
After lunch you have access to all the fresh produce including fruit, veg, breads, spices, oils and much more.

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank patrickfarrell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

How have I never heard of this place before!! The menu is amazing. I found it so hard to pick one thing. Kiddies menu is fantastic value & has a great selection. I am dying to get back asap.

Date of experience: August 2017
4  Thank Cheekie_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newbarn Farm also viewed

Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
Julianstown, County Meath
 

Been to Newbarn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing