We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend break in The Killeshin Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killeshin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend break in The Killeshin Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel on todayfm.ie for 35 euro a night each with breakfast! Brought our parents with us too. When we brought them to their rooms first we thought they had been upgraded! Rooms are really fab. All rooms are the same throughout the entire hotel. Great big comfy bed and tea/coffee and lovely bathrooms. We ate in the hotel on the Friday night. Yum and delicious baileys coffees and desserts after :) Staff were local I would say and really friendly. Breakfast was tasty and as much as you wanted was there. Staff also lovely here. Two blonde ladies. Went to Seasons restaurant in the town on the Saturday night (recommended!). Stay here - great value and lovely pool etc

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road - 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newlymarriedireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    198
    85
    45
    27
See reviews for
186
221
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel last December. Booked for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was very clean but in need of work done as they are a little tired. Food was fantastic and the atmosphere in the bar was good both nights we stayed, its a bit out of the town but only 5 minutes away in a taxi. Staff were really friendly except for the receptionist a tall blond haired girl who i found to be quiet rude. Never got to the leisure Centre but i heard good things about it from the other guests. Will be back!! ( soon hopefully )

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gavin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent one night at this hotel in February 2012 with our 3 young boys. Booked interconnecting rooms which were perfect. The hotel itself is very modern, built in a quiet residential area approx 1km from the town centre. Rooms were fine, but would have to agree with other reviewers when they used the words "a little tired" to describe them. We all loved the leisure complex. Evening meal was good, as was breakfast. Would definitely recommend to other families looking for a quiet relaxing break. Staff were wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us. Oh, safe free parking too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maghera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here for a work night, nothing much has changed here. Room was grand, bit tired but nothing too major, toe nail clippings all over the carpet so hoover was obviously not used by the housekeeping.
Leisure center was nice but guy on reception was mega rude with no customer service, had to get my own towel when he kept ignoring me.
Food is nice enough here but it can take ages to get served, especially if there is a group

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel saturday night with my partner. Its a lovely hotel, the staff were very
friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant and food was absolutely fabulous. our room was very spacious, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast following morning was great and lots choices. I couldnt fault this hotel in any way and would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will def stay there again. We had a very pleasant stay from start to finish.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.1 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
13.2 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
33.9 km away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
15.8 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price range (per night): $91 - $176
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing