We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house with great facilities”
other travellers have booked this property
Morette House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morette House
Morette House Morette House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Morette House
Morette House
Morette House
The patio
The patio
The borders
The sitting room
The sitting room
The sitting room
The sitting room
The fire in the sitting room
The sitting room
The sitting room
The kitchen
The kitchen
The kitchen table
The kitchen table
The kitchen
The kitchen
The well in the kitchen floor
The well in the kitchen floor
The wood burner in the kitchen
The hall
The hall
The hall
The hall
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
The front bedroom
The front bedroom
The treble room
The treble room
The bathroom
The landing
The patio
The patio
The patio
The patio
The orchard view
The garden
The view from the front gate
The avenue
The Rock of Dunamase
The river Barrow in the Slieve Bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portlaoise, County Laois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sarahgeth...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful house with great facilities”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was a perfect base for 7 adults attending a wedding in nearby Portlaoise. It has everything you need for your stay. The patio/garden area is beautiful, and made for some lovely pre-wedding photos. The kitchen is very well equipped. The bedrooms are spacious. The entire house is very clean. Justin was very easy to deal with, and was easily contactable and responsive to messages.
Justin's dad lives nearby and his two very friendly dogs visited the house frequently, which was enjoyed by all guests!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M W
K Y
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely best place to stay and see Ireland”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was greeted by Justin (and not turned away) as we drove in earlier than expected. He quickly went over everything and departed knowing what a long trip we had. The beds were comfortable, so nice for everyone to have their own room. Very safe area, great places to eat very close by, at least 3 grocery stores in town, but plenty in the house to get you started. Coming back from a long day & being greeted by the pups was wonderful. I really can't complain about anything. Oh, the portable hot spots were life savers on the road. Thank you Justin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly stunning property that everyone should visit... we'll be back!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Myself, my partner and a couple of friends recently stayed in Morette House and we cannot say enough about it. The pictures don't do this place justice, the house itself is absolutely stunning, the decor in every single room is so unique, we really loved everything about it, from the cast-iron radiators to the bedside lockers - just top class. The kitchen really is the heart of this home - it's views of the garden (one you could only wish for) and the well feature really make it one of a kind. Everything we needed was there for us.

We had are own taxi service - make sure you contact John at Portlaoise Bus Hire.

Finally, Justin is an absolute pleasure to deal with, a real gent. We're looking forward to our return trip already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam_Heijd...
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best holiday home ever!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our week at the farmhouse. The house is beautiful and very clean and Justin is very friendly and helpful. In the house there is everything you need and we felt like kings and queens for a week! When we arrived at the farmhouse we couldn't believe this beautiful house was ours for a week. Our kids also loved the house. We visited beautiful Irish places but every day we came home the dogs were waiting for us and we loved that. It was really our best holiday ever. Thanks to Justin and the dogs who made our stay really pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and the beautiful house.
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Tieners
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing