We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights Feb 12th - 14th, Our room was very big just the Double bed in the middle of the room so it made for alot of space on either side of the bed, Table with two chairs at one end of the room, a work desk and t.v aswel all usual stuff you'd expect to find! Hotel was really nice, Great simple decor.

We used this as a Base for heading out to Kildare Shopping Outlets on one day, which was only a 20 minute drive away so dead handy.

Swimming Pool was great we went for a swim every day and used the jacuzzi aswel.

Staff really made the stay, very friendly staff and extremely helpful to us. We were tired on one of the nights went out and bought a dvd and then found our dvd player was broke, reception then sent up a replacement dvd within i would say 2 minutes of me phoning down.

Definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Derek,

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise..I will pass your kind comments to our excellent team here in the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again some day soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    184
    81
    45
    29
See reviews for
212
147
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

but nothing more. Its great in terms of being right on motorway, location is good, its quite new hotel, rooms are spacious and clean, hotel is clean and simple. Prices are very reasonable. Please note there is no residents bar and restaurant did not work when we back to hotel late at night. Breakfast wasn't included so can't comment on that either.You would have to drive or get taxi to town its bit away from centre. Its cheap, clean place to stay overnight if you're tired with really good beds and fantastic showers to refresh but nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaidas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Vaidask,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.
I hope to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise sometime so that you have time to sample and enjoy all aspects of our hotel.

Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nice rooms. Clean and bright with comfortable beds. Conveniently located along the motorway but, despite this, the rooms are very quiet - we couldn't hear any traffic noise despite facing the road and in one of the top floors.
Breakfast was served in a fairly dark dining room but was a very tasty buffet.
Staff were friendly
Overall this hotel served our purpose (we were en-route to a function in the locality so needed budget price accommodation and had no need for frills). While I wouldn't necessarily base a family holiday around this hotel I would definitely return for a brief stay if we had something on in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Glee07,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your last stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise some day soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in the Maldron on 21st Jan,I have to say it is an excellent hotel,the staff was very helpfull & really nice esp Marie,lovely clean hotel,rooms are a great size,the food was just beautiful.The hotel is situated perfectly to the motorway which was great for us,we will def return.thankyou all..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Francis M,

Thank you for reviewing your stay last weekend.
We had a huge amount of visitors from your county attending the GAA matches in O' Moore Park which is located only a stone throw from the hotel last Saturday night..

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you will travel down to visit again some day.

Thank you for mentionning our receptionist Marie, who does try very hard to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable & enjoyable stay when with us.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I've just returned from a weekend away in portlaoise staying in the maldron hotel. this was my second stay here and i would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a central point to explore laois or neighboring counties or for a break away weekend . the hotel is well presented and clean . the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quite spacious . the service and food was prompt and tasty. we enjoyed the pool on both mornings of our stay . the placing next door of a food court serving an array of food , from subway to Chinese food , was ideal when you have a teenager in tow. i would stay again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank del-deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Del-Deal,

Thank you for your accurate and kind review of our hotel, Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

We are in an ideal location especially for anyone travelling around Ireland or even just visiting the many scenic sights in Laois... Good to hear that you had time to enjoy our 20m pool, jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam Room Facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.3 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
16.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
12.5 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
10.0 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price range (per night): $77 - $148
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing