We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
86
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade sconesjam and creamon arrivalextra toucheswonderful staytea and coffeesmoked salmon and scrambled eggsfreshly squeezed orange juiceexcellent hospitalitynext morningshort driveexcellent place to staybreakfast was amazingcooked breakfastother guestsb and bdublin airport
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Home away from home. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here for 6 days - work trip.
The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could possibly think of, even welcoming coffee and tea with milk. The 2 bedrooms have TV's, TV in the living room has satellite channels, WiFi is good so was able to work. The main bedroom has an en-suite. Loved the open fire in the living room!
Washing machine, dryer, fridge, freezer, dishwasher - this lovely little place has everything!
Mary made a lovely breakfast... fresh farm eggs, home made bread and marmalade / jam, fresh fruit salad with no sugars, cereal, cooked breakfast - this is excellent value for money if there are 2 or more people.
Woke up to sun blazing and the sound of birds singing - so many wild birds, robins, chaffinch, blackbirds, bluetits and green finch all came to the door for food.
Athy is the closest little town, Kildare Village is close by.
I will certainly stay here again :-)
It's a working dairy farm so you can also view the cow milking in the morning and afternoon.
Very highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Donna,
We love every word of your review, you are so kind to take the time to express such positivity. We would love to see you again.

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Just returned from visiting Athy with my two sisters and mum, as she is from the area we wanted somewhere accessible and easy to get into see family. To say Mary & Vincent made the trip extra special does not really cover it. From the warm welcome with homemade scones and jam to the outstanding breakfasts it was truly the loveliest place you could stay. We stayed in the apartment which was completely accessible for mum, spotlessly clean and the extra touches from the toiletries to the biscuits was just lovely-nothing was too much for Mary. If you stay anywhere stay here, the setting is gorgeous and waking up to cows outside our window was fabulous. Next time we come we are definitely going to take the opportunity to be shown the working side of the farm. thank you so much Mary you made our mums trip so special,
Denise,Elaine,Sandra & mum.
Ps: take advantage of the breakfast ..everything home made and amazing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Denise, Elaine, Sandra and Mum,
Hosting your family was a very happy experience and a pleasure, thank you for staying with us and for the gift.

Mary and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This Bed & Breakfast deserves all possible stars. Clean Room, exellent Breakfast, The overall atmosphere, Mary's kindness. Our child got sick in the airplane and Mary helped us like she was a grandma. Our family recommends!

Muikut, Finland

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Muikut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. I hope Lowrey was well enough to enjoy the rest of the holiday.

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Our stay began with a warm welcome from Mary and cup of tea and home baked cakes. We had advised ahead of our stay that our son is a coeliac and needs gluten free food, assuming this would just cover breakfast. So the gf cherry cake on arrival and gf biscuits in our room were a lovely surprise. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast offered amazing choices including gf options such as cereal and bread and gf potato waffles with the cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was delicious and set us up well for the day. Cannot speak highly enough of this b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFolkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear David and Family,
Your very kind review is much appreciated, thank you for staying with us.

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

It was lovely to be welcomed by Mary with home made scones, jam and cream. Our room was light and comfortable with a well fitted modern ensuite. We were made to feel very welcome and the food was all delicious. Ballindrum Farm is in lovely countryside, but only a short drive from Kildare and the National Stud which we visited. We were only sorry our stay could not have been longer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words, they are very much appreciated.

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews