We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oilean Rua

Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Living / Dining Room Living/ Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Living / Dining Room
Living/ Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom with built in wardrobes
Bedroom
Bathroom
Walk in shower in bathroom
Hall
Hall
Sea views of Smerwick Harbour from Living room
Views of Mount Brandon from Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tallestra
Bat Yam, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The location is beautiful, and very peaceful, and the views from windows are stunning. The house itself has everything you need for comfortable stay. The rooms are large, especially bathroom,and are more impressive in life, than on photo. Since I like to cook, I was rather impressed with a range of kitchen utensils.

We really enjoyed our stay there, and hope to return again someday. And would definitively recommend this place to our friends.

Thanks, Sarah and Ray, for lovely home and memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AisherBas...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet, peaceful, bliss.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fantastic stay; felt very welcome and very at home right away. Everything we needed was right at hand. There's lots to do in the area and we made the most of the beaches, canoeing and walks. The wood burner in the living room was a big hit for us and we were able to have cosy days in when it rained. Thanks very much.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your great review, really pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfasttr...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a lovely house in a beautiful location. The house was immaculate and had everything you could want for a comfortable stay. Sarah and Ray (owners) were extremely pleasant and helpful and basically left us to our own devices - which added to the homely atmosphere. Ventry, Ballyferriter and Dingle were easy to get to by car so we never felt like we were wasting any time when driving there. Money well spent

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in Kerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westyWell...
wells
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a beautifully presented holiday rental with fantastic views. We cannot praise it enough. Sarah & Ray were very helpful as they lived in the house attached to the rental but it was completely see contained. We would certainly recommend to anybody and it is somewhere we hope to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedwig84
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If only all self catering was like this!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed 5 nights at Oilean Rua at the end of July at it was brilliant accommodation. Wonderful views from the living room and being outside of Dingle itself provides the relaxing and peaceful spot we were after - and it's only a few minutes drive to Ventry & Dingle when heading out and about.

Ray & Sarah were great and when they say they want the house to feel like a home from home they have succeeded! Bright, spacious, comfortable, clean and everything you need to feel like it's your own place. Shampoo, tea, coffee, eggs and fresh scones among the touches which you wouldn't find in other self-catering accommodation.

Photos really don't do Oilean Rua justice and if we're in Kerry again we would definitely be giving Ray & Sarah a call to see if their brilliant pad is available!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we look forward to seeing you in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing