We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday rental.”
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms Cottage from the Outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms
Cottage from the Outside
Living Area
Kitchen and Downstairs Bathroom
Views from the Roof!
Various Spiddal Pics
View with Garden
Beach (Trá na mBan)
Beach 2 From a Distance
Another view of Living Area
Showing driveway with Parking at Side and Rear
Old Fireplace
Another view of Kitchen and appliances
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Spiddal, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
karrieal
Riverhead, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect holiday rental.”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Recently my family and I had the privilege of staying at Lal’s Cottage in Spiddal. We had a wonderful time staying in this lovely cottage. We had all the conveniences of home, but with the charm of a picture-perfect Irish cottage. The location was ideal for touring the Connemara region and visiting Inis Mór. Carmel the hostess was amazing, and we are very grateful for all of her help. We look forward to staying at the cottage again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked that it was cottage, but had modern appliances that made our stay comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali G
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Well preserved, picturesque home right on the edge of the village”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

You couldn't ask for a better location, accommodation or host. Carmel was so warm and friendly, she made us feel like honored guests. From the fresh baked goods to the nice chat over tea, we just really enjoyed the stay. The cottage has been in the family for a long time and eventually turned into a vacation rental home with many of the original features still in place, like the thatch roof.

My favorite is the coin meter. Now, I've experienced rentals where the mystery of just how much this meter will cost you can be unnerving, but this isn't the case. You can see the meter running and you feed the meter as you go along. You decide with a flip of a switch what uses up juice on the meter and what doesn't. You could spend 10 euro or you could spend 40 in a week depending on how much energy you decide to use up. I like that and it kept the cost of renting such an extraordinary piece of property down to a very reasonable rate. Honestly, the cottage is just something out of time and we feel privileged to have stayed there. Ok, I'm gushing, but I'm not kidding.

If you need anything, just speak up. Carmel makes herself readily available and was genuine in her desire to make sure our stay was the best possible. That kind of hospitality is rare these days and totally adds to the charm of the place.

My rule of thumb for travel reviews is simple. I write them if a place wows me or woes me and this one, is a big WOW.

Go to Spiddal. Spend a good week and stay at Tigh Lal. It'll be an authentic and wonderful experience you won't soon forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, style and that 2 bedrooms had their own bathrooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMG1974
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful cottage in beautiful Spiddal in beautiful Galway”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Lals cottage for the last week of September 2015. What a Wonderful cosy thatch cottage to spend a week in. It was spotlessly clean (immaculate). It had everything you needed. Plenty of room too. Beds very comfy, great shower, great heating,perfect kitchen, home away from home. Lots of space outside too, was great to have table/bench out the back of cottage with plenty of chairs. A real gem in the middle of Spiddal village. Beach only a stones throw away..
Village itself has all you need, great bar/food, couple of good supermarkets, and 2 doors down from cottage is the best pizza house in Ireland (Fiordigrano Pizza). Wonderful pizza and pasta dishes open from 4pm till 10pm tues to Sunday.
Last but not least, our hosts Martin and Carmel, thank you for letting us experience Lals house. We loved every minute of it..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41Babs3
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“IDEAL HOLIDAY WEEK IN SPIDDAL in a lovely 300 year old Thatched cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lals cottage was even better than we had expected. In fact, it was a 300 year old thatched cottage but with most of the modern amenities and superbly located. Eventhough we did not have the internet that was easily accessable from the local hotel or pub. There was nothing that it did not have that we needed. Our Hostess, Carmel, even brought us freshly homemade goodies now and then. If we were to return to Spiddal or even the Galway area would would absolutely chose to stay at Lals Cottage again. Thank you Carmel and Martin

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjc26
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful property in a wonderful area.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is so well situated for the village itself and for exploring the wonderful Connemara area. It contains everything one needs for a perfect holiday base, comfortable and clean. Shops, pubs and garage all close by, as well as a local Craft Centre for buying different sorts of presents to take home. Views across the bay add to its charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing