We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel in the center of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Roundstone House is a nice hotel, conveniently located for a tour through Connemara. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner in the restaurant. If you need to relax, the downstairs sitting room is just the place.

Room Tip: One caution, street noise could be a factor so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeF60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I brought my mother to this hotel, and it was just perfect.The rooms were very comfortable, and the lounge/reading room is like a home from home.The real star here is the food, whether it's the bar food, or the restaurant the qulality of the cooking is superb.The other star is of course the staff, who make a stay here an experience you will not want to forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degustibusirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We visited Vaughans Rounstone House Hotel for a snack lunch during a drive around Connemara. We had bowls of Seafood Chowder each and shared one Salmon and Crab combo salad. Fantastic food with ample portions. The staff were friendly and efficient. The ambiance was superb; I just wanted to check in and stay. Which is what I am promising myself for the next visit to Connemara.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This small family run hotel has lots of character and offers comfortable accommodation throughout. There is always a great "buzz" about the place, due in part to the excellent bar food served throughout the day. Our room was at the front of the hotel, so we were aware of the chat of customers and also of passers-by in this idyllic seaside village, but this was not intrusive, and we were alerted to this when booking our room.
Evening meals are of a consistently high standard, with freshly cooked local produce and delicious seafood. Due to the popularity of the restaurant meals should be booked in advance.
Staff should be commended for their friendly, attentive and professional manner.
Although officially rated as a 2* hotel, we would rank it as one of our favourite places to visit; this was our third stay, and we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have superb views, but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Great little family run Hotel in one of the most breath taking parts of Ireland.From the moment we arrived on our 3day stay we were made to feel so welcome.Breakfast was the best we had among the other Hotels we had stayed in on our week long trip to the west and south west. Dinner was included for 2 of the 3 nights ,the standard and choice's on the menu were excellent. and fantastic value for money.
Our double room en suite was fairly basic but more than adequate for our needs and we were lucky to wake up to glorious sunshine and stunning views every morning.On our visit we had coffee in The Abbeyglen (faux ) Castle Hotel a more reknowed 4*Hotel in Cliften where we had stayed 30yrs ago and had considered booking .I can only say we made the right choice with The Roundstone House Hotel as the Abbeyglen Hotel would have cost us twice as much + more and is now looking very tired and in need of much TLC.
Without doubt we will be back,to Roundstone.........sooner rather than later !!!! Thank-you to The Vaughn Family and staff for your wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
10.5 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.6 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
9.3 km away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Clifden Station House
17.5 km away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
24.5 km away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price range (per night): $152 - $169
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing