We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
490
175
78
46
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
175
78
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turf fires stress free zone herb garden tennis courts outdoor pool table tennis the atlantic ocean rack of lamb old world kids club kylemore abbey connemara national park oysters each evening wedding reception bar menu public areas
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at lodge 2 in Renvyle House hotel as part of a getaway booked with interval International .

Very large lodge with 7 beds (1 double in 1 upstairs room, 2 singles in the other upstairs room, 1 single in one ground floor room and 2 singles in the other ground floor room.

Lots of facilities in the lodge. Underfloor heating throughout .

Only downside was the water which was a bit green and although they said it was drinkable and safe, we didn't feel confident to do so. There was a water purifier which didn't work.

We did boating (free) and the pool was really warm. Tennis courts need re-laying as the gravel was loose and unsafe. The main house needs major refurb which didn't affect us as the lodges are modern .

Would recommend pictures in the wall to make the lodges warmer.

We had free fly fishing lessons by Jackie Coyne, the world champion for 2016.

Overall a very nice holiday and would recommend for anyone with interval international staying in the lodges.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Koshy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Very special hotel in a fab setting - not inexpensive but excellent value for money. The lovely decor throughout matched the age of the property with a modern twist. Lots of varied amenities - something for all. Our room looked as if it had been recently decorated in a modern country style- we especially liked the sitting area with tv and comfy armchairs, the modern bathroom with fab shower separated the sitting and sleeping areas, the bed was comfy, ample wardrobe space and a 2nd tv.

Huge breakfast menu with quality tasty food, didn't need lunch! Several comfortable areas to chill out - in addition to the bar, restaurant and expansive gardens.

Fine dining is available as well as a wide range of other meals and snacks. Over our 4 night stay we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals and the breakfasts certainly stood up to the complimentary TripAdvisor reviews! All staff we met were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We (family of 4 - 2 kids aged 4 and 5) spent 3 nights at Renvyle house the last weekend of August. We LOVED our holiday. All 4 of us without a single tear or quibble. Of course the weather makes any holiday in Ireland. The forecast was horrible we considered cancelling but in the end decided to go for it prepared for the worst. It stopped raining as we came around the mountain and never rained during the days for our stay. Unbelievable! Renvyle house hotel is not cheap for a family of 4 even with a last minute special in August you won't have change from 1000 euro. But we had done 3 irish camping holidays, 2 with alot of rain and wanted something really special before school and work resumed. It was worth every penny. The kids bounded from one activity to the next and we all laughed and played and regrouped as a family. No whinging or whining or fighting. Just fun. The pool is one of the rare pools in Ireland just the right depth in the shallow so small kids can stand. The 4 year old taught herself to swim the first day because she didn't need to wear armbands bands. Ive never seen her so happy. The pool was warmer than it looked. The little beach was lovely when the tide was out and the big beautiful beach just a mile down the road was deserted and fantastic. We tried rowing, kayaking, tennis, croquet, fishing(well we pretended) picked blackberries. We brought the kids for a little horse ride in Tully. They loved it. 20 euro 20 minutes. The food was really good. We had 2 5 course dinners included. Alot of food! The kids had 2 kids dinners in the kids club. We convinced them to dine as a family in the bar 1 night (2 fairly shy kids abandoned us and didn't want to know us for dinner and a movie). The bedroom is small but we were never in it and it was perfectly clean. We used out car for coats and wellies and drying our beach towels so it was very manageable. Renvyle is a shabby chic type of place. Some say more shabby than chic. But it was just our kind of place. Very unstructured. Very relaxed. Not once did I feel the need to say to the kids not to run or be quiet. They aren't very noisy kids but still I wouldn't like them bothering others on holidays. Maybe because it's so spacious but we always seemed to have lots of space to our selves or distance from others. Oh before I forget. The breakfast I think was everyone's highlight. The kids couldn't believe having hot chocolate and pancakes and granola and juice and fruit and and and....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank heatherhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We are staying locally and had booked dinner on Sunday evening which proved a respite from a constant downpour all day. The foyer was full of friendly bustle and children under family scrutiny. We only took a starter, main dish and dessert which left us amply satisfied. The salmon gravadlax starter was a treat. We chose fish dishes - hake and sea bream - and chose an Albariño to accompany them. The meals were delicious - and were finished with tasty Apple frangipan and Passion fruit parfait. Full credit to this fine, family friendly hotel for maintaining such quality dining and excellent service.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DeirdreD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Fun with family and friends in the friendly relaxed atmosphere of Renvyle House. Knowland shows for the kids and adults by Roz and Sean. The crazy mind-blowing family quiz. A cappuccino in the conservatory after crab hunting on 'Pebble Beach'. A chowder by the fire. Fantastic new evening barfood menu and the unbeatable Tim O'Sullivan dinner menu. Favourites. .. rack of lamb and mushroom soup. Loved robbing steamed mussels from my sister's huge pot! lots of fun included for free such as the kid's club, rowing on the lake, tennis, outdoor beautifully warm pool and the hottub with a view... The superb girls at reception and the hotel managers will help old and young alike with anything! See you there again!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Navan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews