We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with no food.”
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Celbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hotel with no food.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Called for lunch on 21st April to be told that we could only have soup and sandwiches as they were too busy with a booking of 150 people for confirmation celebrations, to accommodate us for lunch.
BIzarre.
I didn't know that the tourism industry was enjoying such rude health that it was not possible to cater for an additional two people. The manager was also kind enough to advise me that the next establishment on our route was equally busy and that we would be best going to Roundstone. Luckily they were completely wrong and the next establishment, Glynsk House provided us with an excellent lunch, although they were preparing for a group of 200.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    51
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
54
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Carna bay for a 40th Party. The hotel and rooms were really clean and fresh and airy. Mary and her staff were really welcoming and nothing was a problem. The food in the restaurant was excellent Five star quality at three star prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900MickO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Offaly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just on my way home from The Carna Bay Hotel ... we booked this hotel at the last minute(literally that morning) and we got a great deal.
The rooms are basic but very clean and include all your essentials to ensure a nice stay...we had dinner last night and it was fab as was the breakfast this morning. I couldnt fault it in any way.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to any one who would like a nice, quiet amd relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0anne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Due to the fact that I am not so good of a navigator/travel planner and I thought our hotel was going to be in Galway CITY...hahahaha IT'S NOT-just in case anyone else is confused (Galway COUNTY)...several wrong turns and 2.5 hours later, we made it to the hotel around 11pm. Everyone was really mad at my mistake at first but soon found out that the hotel was well worth the long drive when we heard the traditional Irish music being played live in the pub downstairs and the GORGEOUS mountain scenery that we saw from our windows in the morning. The other guests and bartenders were more than willing to chat with and entertain the four American kids wanting a true taste of Ireland. They were friendly in a way that didn't make you feel like you were a hotel guest. Made a lot of memories-still one of the best nights of my life and by far the best night in Ireland!

Room Tip: We got three rooms and they were all pretty much identical. They're pretty good sized :) Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay at the Hotel, which is in the heart of Connemara.We had been previously, but just for lunch and always said we would go back and stay. It is a family run Hotel and Mary made us very welcome. The staff could not do enough for us, we had a lovely warm welcome from Patricia also. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable.It has a lovely bar and dining area, serving great food.Great to see so many locals dining and drinking there, which is always a good sign.!
We will definately be back and will bring friends with us, as they would love it too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
19.8 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
25.0 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
20.2 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
25.6 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
21.6 km away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Property: Carna Bay Hotel
Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price range (per night): $138 - $193
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing