We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mainistir House Hostel
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Hostel”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

To the person who said the private rooms were great, you may be the owner writing a lie. Our private room was NOTHING like any photos on the website. They were dirty, the staff (the man that was there most of the time) was SO horrible. He was rude, acted like any question you asked was a waste of his time. There was even an article of praise about his food on the wall yet the article itself said how mean he is but that the food is worth it. And oh my gosh he (the worker, I forget his name now, but he is the one who cooks all the food) was SO loud all night long, he would keep the tv on really loud and I could hear it through my walls, he also was SINGING in the middle of the night at 3 am.

I really wished I would have just stayed at the hostel off the pier. I truly believed this place would be gorgeous because of the photos and the food menu. I didn't even eat his food, i went to ti jo watty's because frankly, they were more friendly. I absolutely hated this place, i even peeked into one of the other rooms and their room looked like junk too.

Not worth going to. Filthy and not the pretty beds with draped fabric on them. They were just gross rooms with crappy beds and linens (Oh and nevermind the fact that my friend's bed was broken and there were missing wood beams under his mattress).. He was miserable sleeping at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Inkedchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    15
    9
    16
    37
See reviews for
14
21
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This place is the worst place I have ever stayed at in my life. Seriously. The website is complete fabrication. It is a dirty, run down place with rude staff. All but one of the showers near our room were out of order. The toilets were filthy. How hard is it to clean a place right?

Awards from Georgina Campbells outside - the last one was 2007 - the place has not been cleaned or tidied up since Ms Campbell left! Steer clear!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Murp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inishmore hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Mainistir house locates approx. 2-3km from the port, about 20min walk. Location is relatively ok, a pub with food and the shop are quite near.

Place seems to have had several prices/mentions in travelling guides between 2002-2007, but it also looks that little has been done after 2007. Everything is heavily worn or broken.

I stayed in a single room with shared toilet and bathroom. I assumed that with the price of 45€ a night you would get ensuite, but that was not the case.

My room (no. 5) had a great view to sea, Ikea furniture from approx 2005, armchair with dirty textiles, two suspicious looking bath gowns, broken safe box in the corner, hairdryer, water kettle and two tea cups. Window curtains were broken. Plastic carpet was broken in many places. As a positive detail, house's public Wi-fi had ok signal in my room. Room was also cold during the night (in August).

Public showers were ok, I had enough warm water every time I took shower and did not need to queue, although there were approx. 4 showers and 4-6 toilets for 20 private rooms.

Breakfast was light continental with tea, coffee, cereals, toast and scones, butter, marmelade and juice.

To conclude: the place is kind of cosy and you'll survive accommodating there, but has seen its best days and would need better maintenance. With the selection of B&Bs available on the island, I'm sure you'll find better with the same price. The problem is that not many of them have presence in the Web, as Mainistir House has.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaimaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Location: 15-20mins walk uphill from the village.

Appearance: Looks shabby from the outside. Could do with paint.

Greeting: No 'welcome' No 'enjoy your stay' from the grumpy owner. It costs nothing to be pleasant.

Bedroom: 10ft x 10th, bit on the small side, however the bedroom was clean, the bed sheets smelt fresh which was a relief!! We had a bedroom facing the ocean. Great view!!

Showers/toilets: We stayed on the 1st floor. One shower was out of order, however the sanitary facilities were generally clean. Plenty hot water & pressure.

Communal Kitchen: Don't go into it as you will loose your appetite

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends. We were cycling around the island and really only needed a bed and a place to hang our hats. We are not fussy normally when it comes to accomodation, and we did not plan to stay too long in our rooms! We booked 3 double rooms.

My needs are simple - I like a warm bed, a hot shower, and for the place to be clean.... None of those needs were met. The rooms were freezing, and the shared bathroom was dirty., the toilet in particular was disgusting. My friend went for a shower, but there was no hot water at all. When this was raised to the man at the reception desk, he told her that the child of another guest had left a hot tap running, and that people should keep more control of their children. No apology was forthcoming.

To charge 50 euro a room is excessive, and their website is, frankly, an elaborate work of fiction.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fisquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inishmore hotels
181.8 km away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#2 of 4 in Inishmore
329 reviews
0.0 km away
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
#3 of 4 in Inishmore
10 reviews
181.1 km away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
145 reviews
181.7 km away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
92 reviews
181.8 km away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 19 in Inishmore
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Inishmore

Been to Mainistir House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainistir House Hostel

Property: Mainistir House Hostel
Address: Mainistir Village | Inis Mor Island, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Inishmore
Price range (per night): $16
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mainistir House Hotel Inishmore
Mainistir House Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing