We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for rest and relaxation. A home from...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carraig Gorm

South Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Terrace
Front of house LivingRoom2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
South Terrace
Front of house
LivingRoom2
Dining Area
LivingRoom
Kitchen
CarraigGormEnsuiteBedroom
Single Bedrooom
BedroomWestView
CarraigGormUpstairsBathroom
Landing
ViewfromLivingRoomSofa
Terrace in late Summer
CarraigGormFrontGarden
WildGardenOrchid
Lambs in the field
Carraig Gorm Gardend
LivingRoomView
St. John's Point
Donegal Sea Cliffs
Donegal Coast Blues
Donegal Coast
St.John's Pt. Dolphin Spot
DonegalBayWaterbus
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Laghey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
C-JMcE
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for rest and relaxation. A home from home.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm just back from a great week staying in Carraig Gorm. Margo was very welcoming and on hand if we needed anything. She even provided us with a welcome pack of fresh home made scones and milk and teabags. The gardens were lovey and a pleasure to sit out in. The kitchen was well equipped for any type of cooking. The rooms were comfortable and the views were lovely. I've already recommended this great house to family and would consider coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed, peaceful, comfortable house with great views.
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexTri...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Carraig Gorm in early June and we had a fabulous time. On arrival we were taken into the lounge and were absolutely smitten with the view of the bay and the countryside from there. The property itself is lovely and we had such a great time there. You can just sit, enjoy the views and relax. Not far from Donegal town, an easy taxi ride, where we enjoyed a lovely meal in The Harbour Restaurant and a ride on the Waterbus. We would definitely come back if we are in the area again. Thanks Margo for a great welcome and assistance in contacting Bernard the taxi driver who was so helpful. We loved staying here at your lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antrim
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the garden
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N_Ireland...
N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Donegal stay I have ever had !!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am writing this on behalf of my mother and father who have just returned from Carraig Gorm. They insisted that I write a review on the property as they have stayed in Donegal countless times and have had a mixture of good bungalows, horror stories etc. I booked Carraig Gorm for them after looking at all the reviews. They were initially going to book a different property but when I took over I showed them for the same price Carraig Gorm far outshone it. My parents have just returned and have raved about the house....beautiful property, friendly host, gorgeous garden, views etc. Stunned when they told me they had a BBQ several times (this is Donegal after all!!) Mum stated that out of all the holidays she has ever taken to Donegal this one was the best. A big thank you to Margo...you have a great property :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tharron
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This location was exactly how I pictured Ireland. The rolling country hill, the sound of sheep across the meadow, and the view of the bay in the distance...paradise! This was my absolute favourite accommodation during our whole trip in Ireland. The house is gorgeous with lots of space. The views of the countryside from the house are amazing.

The house has 3 bedrooms, 1 downstairs bedroom ensuite and 2 upstairs bedrooms. The one bedroom upstairs had a skylight where we could gaze upon the Big Dipper as we drifted off to sleep. Outside there is a patio area where each morning I had my morning coffee and admired the landscape.

The owner Margo is a wonderful host! She brought us home baked scones and jam when we arrived. They were delicious! Margo even went out of her way to put me in contact with a local lady to help me with my family tree research in this area. Thank you Margo for everything! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing