We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of excellence...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

It was our second visit to CMH, although my partner and I are well aware of the dangers behind seeking a repeat of a wonderful experience. Fortunately, CMH has the depth of knowledge, service standards and overall attention to detail that leads me to believe that you would never be dissapointed.

Strengths are too numerous to mention but some cannot escape notice. The staff are attentive, amicable and subtle, utilising the snug bar / restaurant layout to its best advantage. Gerry, who we remembered from our last visit, deserves kudos for his congeniality, ease of manner and ability to pamper customers but remain extremely dignified, all rare traits.

The rooms are extremely well-appointed and give you the feeling of a true getaway - I would highly reccomend Room 5 at the top overlooking the harbour.

Finally, the food, which was to us the true drawing point. The menu had evolved from the year before, most markedly in dish presentation, and was again filled with culinary delights of intelligent proportions. On this visit the monkfish / prawn and mussel ravioli starters were fantastic, followed by stunning and perfectly cooked mains in the scallops and John Dory. The meal was topped off with a shared pudding plate and a cheeseboard, very civilised!

Overall, we were delighted with our visit and commented again on how rested and well-fed we were. The meals were so well crafted and made with such high quality provenance that we left feeling energised!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a week-end break at Castle Murray. The setting is fabulous over-looking the sea and set in its own grounds.
We arrived in time to have a pre-dinner drink in the bar and then a fabulous three course dinner. I had the prawns and monkfish to start which were served hot in a ceramic dish with individual sections for the fish, I then had duck breast cooked to perfection and we shared a chocolate dessert cooked to order. I then finished off the night with a Castle Murray special coffee with orange liquer, fantastic!
The staff were very friendly and the service was fantastic, this is an ideal venue for a week-end break with fantastic food and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our 40th Wedding Anniversary but wanted peace & quiet - needed to escape from enthusiastic party planners! Perfect place with wonderful food, very nice staff, comfortable surroundings & breathtaking views. We felt at home in no time at all and were delighted withe fine food and wines.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Castle Murray Hotel is a little Gem, with superb views of the ocean ideal for wedding photos. We stayed as a family wedding party of 30 and had the hotel accommodation to ourselves so got to see all the rooms, they’re all uniquely and beautifully decorated as well as clean and comfortable. The Wedding reception was held in the Caste Murray Restaurant and the food was unreal, I highly recommend the Castle Murray Starter Special - Monkfish and Prawn dish, Gorgeous flavours. The staff is really friendly and helpfully and the service was first class. I couldn’t recommend it enough.
My Parents have recently gone to the Castle Murray for an Anniversary meal; they loved it and can’t wait to go back. They said the steak was the best they have ever tasted and my partner agree's.

Room Tip: In the main hotel there are 10 rooms, all uniquely and beautifully decorated. Which can be block boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finnvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here on the august bank holiday weekend and could not be more delighted with our stay. The service is personal, efficient, accommodating and above all friendly. The bar is cosy and the conservatory is the ideal place to read the Sunday papers while gazing at the amazing view. The rooms are small but perfectly formed. I loved their simple decor. The ensuite was perfect too. The bed and pillows were the best I have ever slept in...heaven! Lunch was booked out here on the Sunday afternoon so we tried dinner and we were sooo glad we did. The prawn and monkfish starter was divine. This is the perfect place for an affordable but fabulous weekend break. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgdmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkineely
21.3 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
4.6 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
664 reviews
22.4 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
4.7 km away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
717 reviews
17.1 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range: $198 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique bed & breakfast with magnificent sea views over looking the ruins of Mc Swynes Castle an the Slieve League cliffs the highest in Europe. Amazing breakfast using local sourced ingredients, homemade preserves, breads, cakes and granola. As well as our cooked breakfasts like our in-house smoked mackerel with scrambled egg or the farm to fork full Irish. Relax with a drink in our honesty bar and enjoy the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing